Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
The balls turned out very, very sticky and hard. Could not realy enjoy them because of how much they stuck in our teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Not as good as everyone said... But super fun to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aranell85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this recipe as it is stated and they came out really good! I made them really big so I didn't get quite so many out of it and I air popped the popcorn instead of using microwaveable. This is my go-to popcorn ball recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
If you are looking for your mom's popcorn ball recipe from when you were a kid, this is not it. However this is a great recipe. I have noticed that many people who give this recipe a low rating are complaining that they are not setting up. You have to let the candy mixture cool quite a bit. I used four bags of home style popcorn and it was the perfect ratio of popcorn and candy mixture. I made this in two batches, with two bags of popcorn and about 1 cup of mixture per batch. If after you mix the popcorn and candy mixture you find it too hot for a child to handle safely then you need to let it cool because it will not set. My four children, ages 10-3 were able to easily form these into balls. I also added vanilla instead of the water. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
It was a huge hit! I was asked to bring popcorn balls, but I had never eaten or made them before. I made them exactly like the recipe. I only wish I had followed others suggestions and mixed it in a flat/shallow dish like a casserole dish and not a bowl. Messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I cannot give these five starts because they were a little too chewy for me and my family. I think I will try them again because the flavor was delicious but with less "syrup" mixture or more popcorn. I used 3 bags and there was just too much goo for the amount of popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
balls aren't sweet enought. these could use much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These really were great...and unbelievably Easy! As suggested in comments, I substituted vanilla for the 2 tsp of water. The whole family loved them and I worried whether there'd be enough left for trick or treaters. Then I realized they'd been so quick and easy to throw together that, heck, I could just make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Wow, these are fantastic popcorn balls! I used my largest mixing bowl to put the popcorn in to mix with the syrup mixture and it was plenty big enough so I didn't need to mix this in two batches. I think that as the mixture cooled it was much easier to get the popcorn to stick together as I made all the balls and then went back again to squeeze each one tighter together and as they were cooling that worked much better than when the mixture was so hot. Be sure to oil your hands and I kept my Pam spray right there and sprayed a couple of times while pressing the balls. Will defininatly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I added some salt. These were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States