Best Ever Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Love this recipe! I use an 8oz can of tomato sauce, three or four ham hocks, and a couple of cloves of garlic. Throw it all in a slow cooker and dinner is done. So easy and inexpensive, and great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Kosher salt and ham hock? This is a great recipe! I use salt and pepper for seasoning and they turn out great. I have used beef or chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have made these several times now. My husband and picky kids love them and ask for them to be made often. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Photo by OshenGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it several times. I soak the beans overnight and I also use the drippings off the ham (skim off fat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Mine came out too watery. Not sure why. I cooked mine in a crockpot. I'm from OK and remember my mother cooking this. She would use salt pork only. I put raw onions in it and love the taste and crunch. My husband put ketchup in his. I like beans and cornbread. My mother would also sometimes pour the beans on top of the cornbread. That was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Omitted the ham hock and added some chopped onion, garlic, and bay leaves. Very homey and satisfying. Also used to make nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by medic stu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
First beans I made but can't imagine making anything better. Used a package of smoked ham hock but the extra meat was a good addition. Also accidentally used tomato paste instead of sauce but that just made it so thick we had to eat it with a fork. This is great paired with "grandma's cornbread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I had red kidney beans on hand with a smoked ham hock. I followed recipe but used tomato paste with some diced tomatoes for texture. I used double brown sugar for my 3yo and 2 tablespoons worcester sauce. We all loved it and will make it again with pinto beans and no changes just to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
First off THANKS for the recipe, really enjoyed the beans. I'm a bean and pea lover and will try all types. But, i require modifications in seasoning, reduced sodium. Only change made was not adding salt the ham was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this today , it came out great ! This is by far the most inexpensive recipe I know of . AND NOT nuked like so much food is today . And best of all VERY BASIC !!!!! I will make these anytime as a main dish OR a side dish ! FANTASTIC !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States