Best Ever Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Love this recipe! I use an 8oz can of tomato sauce, three or four ham hocks, and a couple of cloves of garlic. Throw it all in a slow cooker and dinner is done. So easy and inexpensive, and great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made this today , it came out great ! This is by far the most inexpensive recipe I know of . AND NOT nuked like so much food is today . And best of all VERY BASIC !!!!! I will make these anytime as a main dish OR a side dish ! FANTASTIC !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have made these several times now. My husband and picky kids love them and ask for them to be made often. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was my first time making pinto beans, and these came out great. I added ground meat because that is how my mother used to make them, but I followed the recipe for everything else. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Kosher salt and ham hock? This is a great recipe! I use salt and pepper for seasoning and they turn out great. I have used beef or chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OshenGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it several times. I soak the beans overnight and I also use the drippings off the ham (skim off fat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. So very easy and the taste is outstanding. My new "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I had red kidney beans on hand with a smoked ham hock. I followed recipe but used tomato paste with some diced tomatoes for texture. I used double brown sugar for my 3yo and 2 tablespoons worcester sauce. We all loved it and will make it again with pinto beans and no changes just to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by medic stu
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
First beans I made but can't imagine making anything better. Used a package of smoked ham hock but the extra meat was a good addition. Also accidentally used tomato paste instead of sauce but that just made it so thick we had to eat it with a fork. This is great paired with "grandma's cornbread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
First off THANKS for the recipe, really enjoyed the beans. I'm a bean and pea lover and will try all types. But, i require modifications in seasoning, reduced sodium. Only change made was not adding salt the ham was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States