Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Best pie crust I've used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
So, this was my first time baking, almost ever. (I made some cookies a few days ago, and that's it, in my entire life, aside from home ec class). But since I had the time, ingredients, and cooking space (as well as a couple cans of pie filling just laying around), I decided to give this recipe a try. I followed the directions exactly as the recipe calls for and the crust came out perfect! Flaky, golden, and delicious! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, flaky crust! Just keep in mind you may not need to use all the water, you just need enough that the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl when you're mixing. I used the whole amount the first time, and it was impossible to work with. Second time I added the water slowly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Browneyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the second time I use this crust, and somehow this time it is much better than the first. :) I must have done something wrong the last time but it was great then too. Pre-baking must have actually made a big difference. I prebaked at 375 for 10 minutes. Anyway I made a pumpkin pie this time, and as amazing as the filling was I can honestly say what took that pie over the top was this crust. It was flaky and delicious and I'll probably use it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent pie crust and I love the idea of refrigerated for overnight. I've been baking for 35 years and this is the best crust I've made. Thanks Jean for the great recipe and the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Came out perfect in my food processor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used to buy the roll out pillsbury crusts before I found this recipe. I haven't bought pie crust since. This pie crust is perfect every time. I use butter flavored Crisco and I add 1 T. of powdered sugar if I'm using the crust for a dessert. It sound like a lot of shortening, and it will feel sticky before you chill it. If you forget to make it in advance, putting it in the freezer for 15 min. works fine. Thank you for this recipe. I've been baking for 40 years and will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is fairly close to my Grandmother's recipe, which I have use all of my life. The difference being, 3/4 cup of shortening to 2 cups of flour. Much less greasy. We like a thin crust, so this is perfect for a double crust. Those who thought it too greasy, try it with 1/4 cup less shortening. It really is the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I guess the negative reviews are by people who didn't follow directions. I followed these directions, except I didn't chill my dough as long. I only chilled for 30 mins. I'm lazy. Also, I didn't use a fancy pastry cutter (I used a fork), and I didn't chill my utensils, bowls, crisco, or anything else. For those who feel like the dough was too wet...notice the recipe says to use less water if you need to! I added a little water at a time until I had the right consistency. Guess what? The crust came out PERFECTLY! It made a beautiful, flaky, golden crust for my buttermilk pie. Idk how the other people screwed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe, the measurements worked almost perfect for me, I just used a bit less water. This was the first home-made crust I had ever made, I didn't expect it to turn out well after hearing so about so many bad experiences that my family and friends have had with making crust from scratch, but I found this very simple and tasty! And I took others' suggestion to chill everything before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States