Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
A great crust. Be sure to chill the shortening and water in advance and roll the dough out between wax paper or plastic wrap. Increase the recipe by 25% to get two full crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
The dough worked up well at first, but once I baked it the crust was tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My son (4) wanted to do a shortening crust, so I pulled this recipe. I usually do Butter Flaky from this site with great results, and I thought, "Rave reviews? How hard can this be? Why not!" I thought it looked like the gal in the video was having a hard time, and as it turned out, I did too--it tore, I could barely get it to the pie pan, I had to press it into place, the top was a mess. It tasted okay, but barely held the pie together because it was so crumbly. Note that most of the rave reviewers subbed BUTTER!! This is not a keeper. I'll be looking for a new shortening crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wow! It had been a while since I made a crust and my husband said tonight that it was almost better than the peach filling, :-) I haven't read all the reviews, but if there is any there that are not raving about this, they did something wrong. Beautifully golden and the bottom crust was as crispy as the top. Awesome flaky texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This crust is great! I did half butter, half shortening and cold water. For a little flavor I added a few drops of almond extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This one is amazingly flaky and tender. What you have to know is that good pastries and pie crusts require some practice and experience, there is no foolproof recipe for a beginner if you don't know what you are looking for texture-wise. Improper measuring of the flour can ruin any pie crust, as can dousing with the recommended amount of water instead of using a bit at a time until the dough balls together. Practice, practice! I found that I needed a touch more flour in my crumb than called for (as I spooned right from the bag) and I eyeballed the water. I discovered I was a bit low on shortening and subbed fresh salted butter for about a 1/3 of the cup required. I used seasalt instead of table salt. This created more than enough dough for me to do a full thick top and bottom crust for my blackberry pie without a drop of seepage. I did not wait and refrigerate it which made it a bit soft and floppy but the slightly sticky dough seamed perfectly when pinched together which I have never had great luck with before. It rolled easily into a round without tearing and browned lightly. The verdict? The most buttery, flaky crust I have ever tasted. My husband and kids, who usually do not eat the edge of the crust devoured every bite and my husband raved that it was the best crust he'd ever tasted. The flavor was right- on, not too salty nor sweet. I would use this for a savory pie as well. This one will be my go-to crust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Flaky, holds it's shape, tastes very good---yes, Best Ever Pie Crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Just finished making this recipe twice. I was baking 2 pies and some reviews were not so favorable so I decided to try one recipe first. I usually buy the frozen versions but now I'm retired and felt I really should have time to make my own crust. This recipe is perfect. I changed it by using 1/2 cup Crisco and 1/2 cup butter. Followed the hints and chilled everything first. I mixed as little as possible and only refrigerated one hour. It rolled out perfectly and the amount is exactly right for a 2-crust pie. Will definitely use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L Olson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as listed but doubled it for a Turkey pot pie, it was beyond excellent my husband and kids loved it-they are very picky eaters and my youngest will normally not ever eat the crust of any type of pastry crust. To make it a more savory crust I did add 2 tsp of oregano and 1tsp of garlic powder while blending all the ingredients together. I also used butter flavor Crisco instead of plain and mixed everything together on low speed w/the flat beater wand in my kitchen aid mixer (about 1-2 mins). I did flour my surface when rolling out the dough and it turned out perfect-definitely one of the easiest recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States