Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this pie crust. It's super easy and the taste is plain and simple. If you don't have saran wrap you can place the dough in a small plastic container while you leave it in the fridge to cool. The recipe says wait 4 hours but I usually only have time to wait 1 hour and I've successfully made quite a few pies with it, so 1 hour seems to be okay. Don't forget the water! I did and added it after all the other ingredients were mixed and it came out kind of iffy.. haha. I was only able to add half of the amount of water it required and it was difficult rolling it out. I was out of Crisco so I went with it. I was careful and it was successful but definitely don't forget the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have made this twice now and both times I had a perfect, flaky pie crust. Watching the video that all recipes provided on how to make a pie crust also helped. Put EVERYTHING in the freezer before using it-important tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbbutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I revolt against measuring the ingredients for anything because most baking/cooking really isn't an exact science. Identical measurements can work one day and not the next. It's not you or the recipe's fault. That said, thank you so much for the tips about chilling. I have avoided using so much fat (any kind) in a pie crust since the last greasy attempt, but my crusts are never flaky. Hardened fat is exactly what I needed. You are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had a real problem with this recipe. Maybe it's just me, but I felt it had way too much shortening. I had an unworkable ball of dough before I added any water! For my second try at some crusts, I used my mixer, and added shortening until I had something between cornmeal and peas. Then I added water to make a rollable dough. Seems the secret is in the amount of shortening. More makes flakier dough, but is harder to work. Less shortening and more water, and the recipe starts to look like one for crackers! I guess that with more experience and better technique, one can work with the high-shortening crust. I'm not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Too much shortening. I saw someone else's post and didn't believe them. I still made the crust and it was okay to handle after refrigerating overnight. It ended up tasting a little too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've made this recipe twice and I fill it and pop it in the oven, but it never cooks!! I think it's too thick, but when I roll it real thin it just falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
SO EASY and worked great. I used this recipe for my first homemade pie ever and it was fantastic! My husband swore I wouldn't be able to make a great crust on my first attempt and he was shocked at how flakey and perfect it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the first time I made a pie crust and it turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe to make 4 chicken pot pies in individual bean crocks and I had just a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Easy! Great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used Crisco stick (butter flavor). I dusted wax paper (and the top of the dough) with flour before rolling it out. I also used a silicone roller from Pampered Chef and it worked like a dream. My crust was flaky, delicious, and very easy to handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States