Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I don't really like this recipe... 1 C of shortening is a ridiculous amount.. I ended up just doing 1/2 c unsalted butter and 1/4 c shortening. It was so sticky even still. Had to only do about 1/8-1/4 c water.. Any more and it would have been soupy. Had to add more flour then.. Didn't bake it yet, but will update if necessary.. It's mediocre...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made the mistake of using salted butter the first time I made this because I didn't have time to make a run to the grocery store. As a result, the crust was a little too salty for my taste but perfect in texture all the same. I used butter instead of shortening which works quite well. Cutting the butter into small cubes and popping it in the freezer for a few minutes really helps if you don't have a pastry cutter (I used two knives instead to cut the fat into the flour mixture). Two things you must make sure of when making this crust if you use butter: that everything stays cold (even the water I used had ice chips in it) and that you do not overwork the dough. Both these tips ensure the flaky texture one loves so much about pie is the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Way to much fat. This recipe made me feel hesitant in the first place, I should have just tried to remember my old pie crust recipe. Thoguh thats what I get for doubting myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth MacTavish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great Pie crust. Not greasy at all. Baked before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've never been a good pie crust maker, but this one is easy and turns out perfect every time. UNLESS you, like me, decide to be lazy one day and make it with a stand mixer. Then it turns out greasy and with a horrible flavor. I think maybe that's what happened with the few low ratings this recipe has received. But I've made this recipe many, many times by hand mixing it and it's always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anantadharma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I don't even know what to say about this recipe. The reviews are so conflicting, I wanted to believe that it was 4 1/2 stars, but like the first commenter, its just horrible. I couldn't even roll it out. I'm an accomplished baker (not too many pies though), i've never had this much of a problem with a crust before. I followed the directions to a T! I wonder if it has anything to do with humidity? I just can't figure out how anyone could get this recipe to work, it was just a wet mess for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I have not tried this recipe but it is almost exactly like the one I do use. The big thing I noticed is the shortening. Lard is by far the best and I always substitute some of that for butter, gives a richer flakier crust. Also ice water is important, and use surgical gloves when I handle pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was a successful and very flaky pie crust. It is however a little hard to roll out and place in your pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Churchill Mamo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good. Nice and flaky pie crust that can be used for basically any pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavenlyflower78
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a GO TO pie crust! Excellent and flaky as promised...I read previous reviews and made some modifications too! Used Crisco flavored butter about 3/4 c, 1/2 tsp salt and 6tbs of ice cold water (added in 2tbs increments) Refrigerated for 1/2 an hour and it was ready to use! I rolled it out in between 2 sheets of waxed paper which made it so easy to handle and actually used powdered sugar to roll it out since I was making a black berry pie. Like I said my go to crust from now on! Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States