Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was a successful and very flaky pie crust. It is however a little hard to roll out and place in your pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smamo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very good. Nice and flaky pie crust that can be used for basically any pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavenlyflower78
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a GO TO pie crust! Excellent and flaky as promised...I read previous reviews and made some modifications too! Used Crisco flavored butter about 3/4 c, 1/2 tsp salt and 6tbs of ice cold water (added in 2tbs increments) Refrigerated for 1/2 an hour and it was ready to use! I rolled it out in between 2 sheets of waxed paper which made it so easy to handle and actually used powdered sugar to roll it out since I was making a black berry pie. Like I said my go to crust from now on! Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I have used a recipe close to this for years. 2 C flour, 2/3 C shortening. 1/2 or 3/4 tsp. salt and 4 to 6 T. cold water. I cut ingredients for health reasons and this still works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is almost identical to the ONLY pie crust recipe i'll use. I HIGHLY SUGGEST using ICE WATER and COLD SHORTENING for this however. I keep my shortening in the fridge. Also add the water by tablespoons or you may end up with a dough that's too wet. VERY AWESOME PIE CRUST! I use slightly less shortening for my crust though. Delicate but VERY LIGHT AND FLAKEY! I also suggest rolling out the dough onto wax paper for easy transferring =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years, it has never failed me. I have changed from using regular shortening to butter-flavored, even better. I've even mixed this up in the food processor and on the counter top with a pastry knife, even more flakey. I get many requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I am an accomplished pie maker with excellent crust making skills. Here is my suggestions, #1 use 1 1/3rd c Butter Crisco, #2 use WAY less water, #3 let it rest in the refridgerator for at least 1 hour before rolling out, #4 use powdered sugar instead of flour for rolling out the crust (Be Generous with the P. Sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I'll be the 1st to admit I'm not the best pie baker and I've always had issues with my crust but this was the worst recipe I've ever tried. It was very unstable, when blind baking it lost all of it's shape and slid into a heap in my pie plate. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know what happened, but I won't be using this recipe again. So I continue my search for the perfect pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GJsLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Best recipe ever!!! I am not a chef or a baker and it turned out perfect and super flaky!!! Will be my go to pie crust recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thank you for the recipe. It is so easy to make and it taste great. I made no substitutions. I will use this recipe forever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States