Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I love this recipe! It was so easy and so flaky and tasty. My kids which have been known to be picky and leave the crust on the plate after eating pie, ate this one up like nothing and wanted more! Just use common sense when making this recipe. If it's too sticky, add more flour. I agree that the amount of water called for is a bit much, but overall it turns out to be absolutely fabulous when you use the tips on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
This was the best crust recipe ever! Easy and you only need a few ingredients! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This is the same pie crust my grandmother and my mother use. I've tried many others, and this is simply the easiest and the best. With this crust recipe the old adage, "easy as pie" really does fit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This was wonderful! My 2nd attempt at a home-made pie crust (1st try - unmentionable), this was simple,easy, and GOOD! Next time I will double the batch for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Pie crusts have ALWAYS been hard for me, especially the rolling out. After many attempts with this recipe I found that two things helped most: 1) regrigerate the dough before rolling as directed, but NOT IN BALLS. Use flattened balls or pancake shaped to refrigerate and the edges will crack less when rolling even if cold. 2) Roll out on floured plastic wrap, and don't be stingy with the flour. At first I didn't want to "overflour" the crust, but it was impossible to roll out the dough without what I thought was a lot of flour (probably 3/4 cup for the top and bottom). Even with a lot of flour it still turned out delicious and was CERTAINLY easier to manage, so flour away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This is DEFINATELY the best pie crust I've ever made... of course, it was also my first. But that doesn't matter, it was flakey and delicious. I must agree with some of the other reviewers, about half the water called for was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I even overworked it and the crusts came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG MIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
I've tried my hand with pie crusts and they were awful!!!! I found this recipe and with the tips, it came out great!!! I will never use store bought crusts again!!! Thank you for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
A great flaky pie crust! And it's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
i loved this recipe and will never buy a pie crust from the store again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States