Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wonderfully Easy! I make it often! Great basic crust. I no longer cook w/ added salt and I do not add it to this recipe, and it still turns out WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The flavor of this pie crust was admittedly good. However, it is really hard to work with. Having tried a lot of different crusts, I can honestly say that this was the worst I've made. It had way too much shortening and it didn't hold up at all. Even after I refrigerated it, it was greasy and difficult to work with. If I attempt it again, I'll make sure I open all the kitchen widows and start with chilled shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love the recipe so much!!! The top crust is the best!!! yummm :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I almost didn't try this recipe because of the last review written. I am glad I did. My pie was a hit and the crust turned out phenomenal. I strongly suggest you try this recipe and use the plastic wrap as suggested in one of the reviews to role out the crust and transfer to pie dish. I didn't make any alterations or changes to the recipe; I used the recipe as it is listed in this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Excellent! Make sure everything is cold including water and let it chill. Don't handle too much. I used this for making mince tarts and they came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Perfect crust every time. It is so easy! I rolled it out between plastic wrap and even cut strips for the lattice with kitchen sheers while the dough was between the wrap. So fast, so easy. Great after having been frozen, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used this recipe to make pie crust cookies and they are delicious. I just substituted half butter and half crisco for a better buttery flavor. Roll out, spread with butter, sprinkle lots of sugar, sprinkle some cinnamon, cut into squares and bake. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This really IS the BEST EVER Pie Crust..I followed the recipe exactly as written...I used my food processor (no I didn't prechill the food processor) and put all the ingredients the recipe calls for in it...yes I had to use my spatula to scoop up the dough (it was extremely soft).....I wrapped it in two bundles and refrigerated it for about an hour...I then put waxed paper on the table and unwrapped one of the bundles...I added more flour to the pile of dough (maybe 3/4 of a cup worth)...in anycase..the dough rolled out beautifully and it was so easy. IF you need to add more flour don't hesitate...it WILL WORK OUT... I am a 69 year old cook and I have always had problems making pie dough...till now that is...THIS IS GOING TO BE MY RECIPE from now on whenever I decide to make a pie...THANK YOU so much Jean for sharing this recipe...as I said earlier, this really is the BEST EVER pie crust...making this pie dough makes pie baking really really easy...(smells so good when it's baking as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Amazing! I have tried so many different pie crust recipes and this was bar far the best! And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
It's a great recipe! I used butter and it really brought out the flaky part of the crust. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States