Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This really IS the BEST EVER Pie Crust..I followed the recipe exactly as written...I used my food processor (no I didn't prechill the food processor) and put all the ingredients the recipe calls for in it...yes I had to use my spatula to scoop up the dough (it was extremely soft).....I wrapped it in two bundles and refrigerated it for about an hour...I then put waxed paper on the table and unwrapped one of the bundles...I added more flour to the pile of dough (maybe 3/4 of a cup worth)...in anycase..the dough rolled out beautifully and it was so easy. IF you need to add more flour don't hesitate...it WILL WORK OUT... I am a 69 year old cook and I have always had problems making pie dough...till now that is...THIS IS GOING TO BE MY RECIPE from now on whenever I decide to make a pie...THANK YOU so much Jean for sharing this recipe...as I said earlier, this really is the BEST EVER pie crust...making this pie dough makes pie baking really really easy...(smells so good when it's baking as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Amazing! I have tried so many different pie crust recipes and this was bar far the best! And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
It's a great recipe! I used butter and it really brought out the flaky part of the crust. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and the crust came out beautifully. It is a bit sticky when it comes out of the fridge, just flour your surface liberally. Very flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The crust was really good tasting. Unlike other crusts, it wasn't so dry that you had to use a bunch of techqniques to get it in a pan... I simply picked it up and dropped it in. I'd definetly recommend this to anyone for any pie. It isn't too sweet or salty. It is perfect and if I were you, I'd use it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ake-2-bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is a great pie crust recipe, that being said i dont agree with the 1/2 cup of water called for in this recipe i used probably a 1/4 of a cup water maybe a little more and made sure it was cold. I also dont blend the flour salt and shortening until smooth it should still have a semi dry texture when the water is added. Refrigerated , rolled between sheets of parchment paper and then refrigerated again. This gave me a super flaky pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiansmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It was runny and greasy - I had to add an extra 1 1/2 cups flour and I only used 1/4 cup water. In the end it couldn't be rolled and had to be pressed into the pie plate like a child would do. I will continue to use my mother's old recipe - I just thought I would try something quick since I was already using a recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Made this crust yesterday for apple pie and it is fabulous. I don't think you can screw it up..perfect, I made mine with half butter and half shortening the crust is very flakey it is definately the star attraction of the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I don't really like this recipe... 1 C of shortening is a ridiculous amount.. I ended up just doing 1/2 c unsalted butter and 1/4 c shortening. It was so sticky even still. Had to only do about 1/8-1/4 c water.. Any more and it would have been soupy. Had to add more flour then.. Didn't bake it yet, but will update if necessary.. It's mediocre...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made the mistake of using salted butter the first time I made this because I didn't have time to make a run to the grocery store. As a result, the crust was a little too salty for my taste but perfect in texture all the same. I used butter instead of shortening which works quite well. Cutting the butter into small cubes and popping it in the freezer for a few minutes really helps if you don't have a pastry cutter (I used two knives instead to cut the fat into the flour mixture). Two things you must make sure of when making this crust if you use butter: that everything stays cold (even the water I used had ice chips in it) and that you do not overwork the dough. Both these tips ensure the flaky texture one loves so much about pie is the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States