Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed advice of other reviewers to make sure "everything" is chilled first & substituted shortening for butter which I cut up and put into freezer. Dough was easy to make and very tastey & flakey when used for my beef pot pie that I baked tonight. fyi: i also followed reviewer's advice to roll out dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap.. this worked perfectly! -thank you! **** UPDATE: just made this again, and did not chill anything. However, here are the changes I made: sifted the flour & used only 3/4 cup shortening; after 4 hrs dough rolled out perfectly w/o use of plastic wrap. I posted a photo this time. (after cooking the crust was perfectly flaky, not greasy at all). Thanks again for this recipe Jean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Thank you Jean! This is an awesome recipe! I compbined your Pie Crust with APPLE PIE by Grandma Ople and it was outstanding! I did make a few minor changes to the receipe...I put the shortening in the freezer for 1 hour then cut it in cubes then cut it in to the flour with a pastry cutter. I also found that when i refrigerated the dough it was not as good as when I used it immediately...I have used your recipe about 6 times now. One last thing...I beat a whole egg and brush it on the crust for a picture perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
One of my favs. Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wonderfully Easy! I make it often! Great basic crust. I no longer cook w/ added salt and I do not add it to this recipe, and it still turns out WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The flavor of this pie crust was admittedly good. However, it is really hard to work with. Having tried a lot of different crusts, I can honestly say that this was the worst I've made. It had way too much shortening and it didn't hold up at all. Even after I refrigerated it, it was greasy and difficult to work with. If I attempt it again, I'll make sure I open all the kitchen widows and start with chilled shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love the recipe so much!!! The top crust is the best!!! yummm :9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I almost didn't try this recipe because of the last review written. I am glad I did. My pie was a hit and the crust turned out phenomenal. I strongly suggest you try this recipe and use the plastic wrap as suggested in one of the reviews to role out the crust and transfer to pie dish. I didn't make any alterations or changes to the recipe; I used the recipe as it is listed in this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Excellent! Make sure everything is cold including water and let it chill. Don't handle too much. I used this for making mince tarts and they came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Perfect crust every time. It is so easy! I rolled it out between plastic wrap and even cut strips for the lattice with kitchen sheers while the dough was between the wrap. So fast, so easy. Great after having been frozen, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used this recipe to make pie crust cookies and they are delicious. I just substituted half butter and half crisco for a better buttery flavor. Roll out, spread with butter, sprinkle lots of sugar, sprinkle some cinnamon, cut into squares and bake. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States