Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Came out perfect in my food processor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I used to buy the roll out pillsbury crusts before I found this recipe. I haven't bought pie crust since. This pie crust is perfect every time. I use butter flavored Crisco and I add 1 T. of powdered sugar if I'm using the crust for a dessert. It sound like a lot of shortening, and it will feel sticky before you chill it. If you forget to make it in advance, putting it in the freezer for 15 min. works fine. Thank you for this recipe. I've been baking for 40 years and will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is fairly close to my Grandmother's recipe, which I have use all of my life. The difference being, 3/4 cup of shortening to 2 cups of flour. Much less greasy. We like a thin crust, so this is perfect for a double crust. Those who thought it too greasy, try it with 1/4 cup less shortening. It really is the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I guess the negative reviews are by people who didn't follow directions. I followed these directions, except I didn't chill my dough as long. I only chilled for 30 mins. I'm lazy. Also, I didn't use a fancy pastry cutter (I used a fork), and I didn't chill my utensils, bowls, crisco, or anything else. For those who feel like the dough was too wet...notice the recipe says to use less water if you need to! I added a little water at a time until I had the right consistency. Guess what? The crust came out PERFECTLY! It made a beautiful, flaky, golden crust for my buttermilk pie. Idk how the other people screwed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe, the measurements worked almost perfect for me, I just used a bit less water. This was the first home-made crust I had ever made, I didn't expect it to turn out well after hearing so about so many bad experiences that my family and friends have had with making crust from scratch, but I found this very simple and tasty! And I took others' suggestion to chill everything before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used COLD butter flavored Crisco and added 1 teaspoon sugar. I only had need for 2 teaspoons of ICE WATER. I'm stressing COLD and ICE because I think it's important to note that working with cold ingredients gives the best results! Also, I only refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and it turned our perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
After a careful reading of the reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. I ended up using about 2/3 of the egg/liquid mixture (hence 4 stars) and put it in my freezer for an hour rather than the overnight chilling. I always roll out my crusts between to layers of plastic wrap - in this case it appears to have been more necessary than others. The result was a beautiful crust, tender and flaky, though I expect I'll not use this recipe as often as others as I'm concerned about the amount of fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a really good and easy to make crust. I need to double it for a 9" pie with a top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sullivan
Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have not found a better dough recipe! Every time I use this to make pie, it's raved about. Also used this to make biscuits for bbq cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Oxley-Kissinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States