Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I used this pie crust recipe the last few times I made apple pie, it turns out great everytime! Very flaky. I will definitely use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
What a mess! This was a disaster of a pie crust from the start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am using this recipe with a lot of success for my apple pies, for pumpkin pies, even strudels and turn overs...it's fantastic, easy to work with, final product is awesomely flaky. I love simplicity and awesomeness of the final product. Just one important note... the best it's the same day. But because it's so easy to get it ready, it's not a problem to bake a fresh pie the same day you plan to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Ok, so i read the good and the bad reviews and decided to give it a chance... big mistake! I use to have a recipe for pie crust buy i lost it so i think why not? it's look easy and with good reviews. I put everything on the freezer first (i always do that when making pie crust) and did it step by step. It was just to difficult to work with because a cup of shortener is too much!!! I will never ever try this recipe again and i really can't recommend it to anyone, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried to salvage this recipe but even with my efforts it was bland, TOO flaky, and almost impossible to work with. I like my crust to have some bite to it. Some density! I like to taste the crust! It needs butter instead of shortening, and far more water than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was amazing, so flaky, yummy and it made enough to have extra dough for turnovers. I only made one small substitution, used butter instead of shortening and ice cold water. don't miss this it's really good...I would also reduce the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this last minute because I had extra pie filling. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have the time to let the dough refrigerate overnight. I chilled mine for about 30 minutes and it came out perfect! It probably would've been even better if I chilled it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I use lard instead of shortening and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have tried all sorts of crust recipes and this one by far takes the cake. The dough would roll out but all it did was bust up. I ended up just pressing it into the bottom of the pan. I was so disappointed especially after all the rave reviews. It was for a cherry pie using my dad's first picking of cherries off his cherry tree. :( I went ahead and used it because I didn't have time to make another recipe since I had already waited on this one to chill etc and have to work tomorrow. All I can say is it better taste better than it rolls. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States