Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Just made this crust and it fell on the floor letting me see that the bottom of the "crust" was not a crust at all. More like a crumb crust rather than a flaky shell. Luckily, I've made a second pie with my own crust recipe and hopefully, the crust will stand up. This was WAY too much Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awful. Too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I used this pie crust recipe the last few times I made apple pie, it turns out great everytime! Very flaky. I will definitely use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
What a mess! This was a disaster of a pie crust from the start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am using this recipe with a lot of success for my apple pies, for pumpkin pies, even strudels and turn overs...it's fantastic, easy to work with, final product is awesomely flaky. I love simplicity and awesomeness of the final product. Just one important note... the best it's the same day. But because it's so easy to get it ready, it's not a problem to bake a fresh pie the same day you plan to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Ok, so i read the good and the bad reviews and decided to give it a chance... big mistake! I use to have a recipe for pie crust buy i lost it so i think why not? it's look easy and with good reviews. I put everything on the freezer first (i always do that when making pie crust) and did it step by step. It was just to difficult to work with because a cup of shortener is too much!!! I will never ever try this recipe again and i really can't recommend it to anyone, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I tried to salvage this recipe but even with my efforts it was bland, TOO flaky, and almost impossible to work with. I like my crust to have some bite to it. Some density! I like to taste the crust! It needs butter instead of shortening, and far more water than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe was amazing, so flaky, yummy and it made enough to have extra dough for turnovers. I only made one small substitution, used butter instead of shortening and ice cold water. don't miss this it's really good...I would also reduce the salt a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this last minute because I had extra pie filling. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have the time to let the dough refrigerate overnight. I chilled mine for about 30 minutes and it came out perfect! It probably would've been even better if I chilled it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 777) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States