Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I followed this recipe to a T - it's very good - good for a savoury (bacon and egg) pie, as well as a sweet one (Treacle Tart). I doubled the recipe and froze the shells. Used two this morning and they're great. My husband even commented on how good the pastry was. I'll be using this recipe again. Thanks Jean Haseloh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Easy and yummy perfect and simple!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Definitely a bit hard to work with, hence the 4 stars, but I found it worth it in the end. I'm not known for good crusts, so when this came out really good.... Well you can imagine my pleasure... Note: If you use salted butter or whatever, don't add the salt, or cut way back.... way... lol. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My family & I love this crust!! I made a couple revisions. I only used 1/2 cup of butter & added 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice & sugar to make it sweeter! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Gross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was great! I did half/half butter and shortening, froze them both and then grated it, so much easier to combine, easy to handle and turned out very nice and flaky! Will be my new go-to piecrust for both sweet and savioury pies. Left out the salt, since I used salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Kolosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is by far the best pie crust recipe I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
There was way too much shortening and it was impossible to work with. It just fell apart and there was no way to get it into a pie tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is the easiest and best pie crust I've ever made. I follow the recipe exactly unless I'm rushed. for fruit pies I add a few tablespoons of sugar. turns out beautiful every time. fattening yes, most pie crusts are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very flaky. I thought it was easy to work with, it wasn't 'greasy' at all. My shell shrunk after I baked it, but I think because the crust is so fluffy and flaky, the holes I had pricked with a fork before baking closed back up for the most part. I have bookmarked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I just don't know how to feel about this crust. Been trying for weeks to find the right pie crust for Grandma Ople's apple pie, which is outrageously good. I've mastered the pie filling, making my own apple sauce to stir into the caramel. I've mastered the lattice construction, no small feat for one as coordination-challenged as myself. Not happy with the various crusts I've tried. Like others stated, this one is flaky and light. Just not sure about the taste and borders on greasy, and I took suggestions and used half butter and half shortening. It still tastes of full shortening. No one in the family complained, but I knew what I was looking for and didn't quite get at. I will keep it, as it did accomplish the flakiness I couldn't get with the others I've tried. I'll try it with full butter next time or keep reading reviews for tips to perfect. Better than average. *Update: it's been some months and I happened to try this crust again, with half butter half crisco baking sticks, just like before. The only thing I did different was used it on an apple berry pie from this site as well. I don't know what happened, maybe because it's dead of winter now, I don't know, but this crust was perfect! I've done it 4 times now for two pies, top and bottom crust. I don't know what to say, but I retract my previous concerns because this is the crust I've been looking for! I did a whole top crust this time, instead of lattice. Maybe that helped. My apologies for mediocre review before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookWrite40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States