Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is fairly close to my Grandmother's recipe, which I have use all of my life. The difference being, 3/4 cup of shortening to 2 cups of flour. Much less greasy. We like a thin crust, so this is perfect for a double crust. Those who thought it too greasy, try it with 1/4 cup less shortening. It really is the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I guess the negative reviews are by people who didn't follow directions. I followed these directions, except I didn't chill my dough as long. I only chilled for 30 mins. I'm lazy. Also, I didn't use a fancy pastry cutter (I used a fork), and I didn't chill my utensils, bowls, crisco, or anything else. For those who feel like the dough was too wet...notice the recipe says to use less water if you need to! I added a little water at a time until I had the right consistency. Guess what? The crust came out PERFECTLY! It made a beautiful, flaky, golden crust for my buttermilk pie. Idk how the other people screwed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe, the measurements worked almost perfect for me, I just used a bit less water. This was the first home-made crust I had ever made, I didn't expect it to turn out well after hearing so about so many bad experiences that my family and friends have had with making crust from scratch, but I found this very simple and tasty! And I took others' suggestion to chill everything before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used COLD butter flavored Crisco and added 1 teaspoon sugar. I only had need for 2 teaspoons of ICE WATER. I'm stressing COLD and ICE because I think it's important to note that working with cold ingredients gives the best results! Also, I only refrigerated the dough for 1 hour and it turned our perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
After a careful reading of the reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. I ended up using about 2/3 of the egg/liquid mixture (hence 4 stars) and put it in my freezer for an hour rather than the overnight chilling. I always roll out my crusts between to layers of plastic wrap - in this case it appears to have been more necessary than others. The result was a beautiful crust, tender and flaky, though I expect I'll not use this recipe as often as others as I'm concerned about the amount of fat in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a really good and easy to make crust. I need to double it for a 9" pie with a top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sullivan
Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have not found a better dough recipe! Every time I use this to make pie, it's raved about. Also used this to make biscuits for bbq cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Oxley-Kissinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Have been using this recipe for a few years now..LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Seasoned with steak spice and sun dried tomatos I wrapped BBQ'd sausages with this dough and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States