Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Just finished making this recipe twice. I was baking 2 pies and some reviews were not so favorable so I decided to try one recipe first. I usually buy the frozen versions but now I'm retired and felt I really should have time to make my own crust. This recipe is perfect. I changed it by using 1/2 cup Crisco and 1/2 cup butter. Followed the hints and chilled everything first. I mixed as little as possible and only refrigerated one hour. It rolled out perfectly and the amount is exactly right for a 2-crust pie. Will definitely use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L Olson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as listed but doubled it for a Turkey pot pie, it was beyond excellent my husband and kids loved it-they are very picky eaters and my youngest will normally not ever eat the crust of any type of pastry crust. To make it a more savory crust I did add 2 tsp of oregano and 1tsp of garlic powder while blending all the ingredients together. I also used butter flavor Crisco instead of plain and mixed everything together on low speed w/the flat beater wand in my kitchen aid mixer (about 1-2 mins). I did flour my surface when rolling out the dough and it turned out perfect-definitely one of the easiest recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I'm eating blueberry turnovers I made from using this recipe as the crust. I rolled it out thin and it started to break apart (the cause was not enough flour on the table and top of the dough). Since I'm not a professional pie baker, I don't know how to handle soft doughs so I used a wide pancake flipper to shove extra flour under the dough and move the finished products to the sheet pans. The turnovers are GREAT and have a slight cinnamon taste every few bites and reminds me of my aunt's pie crusts. Maybe next time I may add cinnamon and sugar to the mix to get a slightly better tasting dough for the application. This recipe gets five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
best ever crust so flaky...Does not need any alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today and followed it exactly as written, except that I only rested the dough for about 30 minutes in the fridge. Leaving it the full time will only make easier to roll, although I had no problem rolling it after only 30 minutes. One negative reviewer believed that there is too much shortening, but I don't agree. It's pretty standard in crust recipes and it wasn't hard to handle at all. I would suggest if you are a novice pie maker you need to use some tips to help you, such as chilling the fat first (I didn't do thatbut it never hurts) but I do typically place the cut-in flour/fat mixture in the fridge for 30 minutes or so BEFORE adding the water, while I work on the filling. I always put ice cubes in the water and chill it very cold, and then sprinkle it on a bit at the time, because it will not always take as much as the recipe calls for and it may take more a little more sometimes. I never touch the dough until it can pretty much be formed into a ball with your spoon or spatula you mixed it with. The less you touch it the more tender it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reubens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a very good pie crust. I don't need to look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was my mistake using Pastry Flour? I was only able to use 2 tablespoons of water, and that was too much! It is now in the fridge, but my hopes are not high. Must have been the pastry flour or too much shortening. It was a ball even before putting in the 2 T of water. Followed the recipe exactly and used chilled ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubyblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really like this one it's quick and easy and always come's out great I don't refrigerate mine I just make sure the ingred. are as cold as can be before mixing all together the ""secrect"" is don't over work the dough only do what you have to and it turns out every time..Thanks for sharing will pass this one on to my kid's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
have gotten rave reviews everytime I make this crust. sometimes I add a teaspoon of sugar (if a fruit pie)and have added herbs for savory pies. also have done half shortening/half lard for that old fashioned taste (my husband's favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is fairly accurate to my family's tried and true, pie crust. If you work the crisco into the flour with a fork until it looks like peas, before adding the water a spoonful at a time, it shouldn't be too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States