Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by marek
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Just baked my first ever pie with this amazing crust! I did everything exactly as suggested in the recipe and it was perfect - I used Crisco for the shortening and it worked out really well. And I used cold water from my fridge, adding about a tablespoon at a time, it turned out perfectly. It's really just so flaky and delicious! I'll use this recipe for my future recipes to come, thank you so much for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great recipe, super easy and it makes a very nice, flaky crust. I followed the directions exactly and am very happy with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was a wonderful, easy pie crust recipe!! To switch it up though I used 1 and 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat. I used 3/4 cup margarine since I didn't have shortening, no salt and 1/3 cup cold water. Awesommmmmmme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Probably didnt need the full amount of water - I read this note after I had mixed it all in (and it seemed too wet). Added just a bit more flour and it worked, but next time will watch the water amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is the first ever dough recipe that I was able to make and actually use! Thanks so much for that post! I'll be sure to link this recipe when I add some pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
an excellent dough that assumes everyone has extensive knowledge of working with kinds of dough! some hints that my help: use ice water and add it 1 tablespoon at a time. you will probably not need the entire 1/2 cup. add enough till you have a manageable (not sticky or gloppy) dough. i wrapped my 2 rounds of dough in plastic and froze for only 1 hour, then rolled out between waxed paper dusting each side of the dough with flour. roll to appropriate size then freeze for 3-5 minutes, then carefully unmold the dough - dough side down, into pie plate, then carefully peel off the remaining wax paper sheet. fill the crust, and follow the same directions as for bottom crust. seal edges by crimping with the tines of a fork - trim dough edges, and prickn top crust with fork to create escape for steam. bake as directed on a foil lined cookie sheet for easy handling. a very butter dough and perfect with grandma opel's apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful pie crust recipe! Most recipes I find are bland and dry, they crack and are a pain to work with, but not this one! Very flaky, flavorful and easy to work with! I now have a new found confidence about making pastries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This crust was perfect for a fresh peach double-crust pie. It is a slight variation from the Crisco classic crust, but an improvement, in my opinion. As always use a flour brand with consistent gluten content and add water according to the humidity and flour. Differences in reviews can be based on measuring flour, gluten, humidiity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe has become my go-to pie crust recipe. It is so simple to make, and is very tasty. Once you try this recipe you'll never buy store-bought pie crust again, trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Here's a tip for lattice crusts: chill the dough in the fridge for a few hours, then roll it out, cut your strips and build your lattice on a sheet of wax paper. Put it in the freezer for about 20 minutes. When you take it out, just center the crust on top of the pie and peel off the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States