Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
it stuck to everything...rolling pin, counter...even after i sprinkled flour...i rolled it all up and tried again, it rolled out okay but it was very difficult...hoping it tastes good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent used for pot pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Though i agree this can be a difficult dough to work with, but the key is to keep flour on your hands when forming the dough or any other surface. Also, the water should be ice cold. I use the dough immediately, it doesn't have to be refrigerated. I've used this recipe for years and never have a problem, just remember this doughcan be rolled, but it's more of a press and shape recipe. (and i don't add salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
1/2 as much lard as flour, 1/2 as much water as lard and a t. of salt! THIS is the recipe handed down thru my family from my great grandmother.....Just funny finding it on here...BEST! Flaky, melt in your mouth, flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the exact recipe my mother-in-law uses and she ALWAYS gets asked to make the pies for any functions. There is not too much fat at all in the recipe. Give this a recipe a chance. I firmly believe that pie crusts take practice, perfect crusts do not happen overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Really yummy crust. Nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Exceptional pie crust! Hasn't let me down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used this for a shepherds pie recipe and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used this recipe and it was great. A good tip to keep in mind: is to use everything COLD! Even the knife to half the dough with. I put an ice in the water to keep it chill and I only used half butter & half shortening. I actually didn't have enough of the shortening but it still came out great. Also, keep in mind not to work on it too much since it will toughen the dough. When rolling the dough I put it between platic wraps to keep from sticking. You can also put flour but the plastic wraps worked wonders for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I wasn't sure if I was making the dough properly, but with prayer and following directions it came out pretty good. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States