Best Ever Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good base recipe - I use it for my meal pies (meat, chicken, pork...) with a few alterations. I added equal amounts sugar to salt - I also multiply by 50% for a top bottom crust - for a bottom only i just leave alone - also use 50/50 on the shortening to unsalted butter. You need to let sit in fridge - makes it a lot easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My first time ever to make a pie crust and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Welbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my first ever attempt at pie crust. The recipe is fast, simple and just about fool proof. It baked up very nicely ~ flaky & tender. I've rated it 4 instead of 5 stars because in dividing it in half as it says, my crust seemed to be very thin by the time I rolled it out for my pan. Next time, I think I'll make 50% more dough before dividing it in half and see if that's enough for a more substantial crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've always had some difficulty when making pie crusts. The instructions for this one are what helped me turn a corner. I'd never refrigerated my dough before, and it made it so much easier to work with - making me not overwork the dough, like it says. My result was a nice, light, perfectly flaky crust. Thanks for the advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. 1 cup of shortening -- REALLY?! This came out like cookie dough -- refrigerated it and everything. Couldn't use the rolling pin and didn't use the crust. Ruined my Christmas dessert. Don't use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have been using this pie crust for years. You have to be very careful not to add the water too fast or you will get mush. A tablespoon of iced water at a time! I also add a TBS of sugar and refrigerate for 20 min or so prior to rolling. It is a great crust once you know how to work with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Please notice reviews don't have any suggestions like most do. This is a really bad pie crust. I was in a jamb christmas eve and went looking for recipe. I have almost the whole pie in the fridge. Still looking for alternatives, might try adding tbs or so of sugar. My complaints were it was powdery and tasteless. If in a jamb like me, I think it would have been ok to eat if made really thin and let pie juice/filling set in and flavor some. Do not make thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Love this recipe, I like to chill before use also as it held together better for me.I also roll it out between two pieces of floured plastic wrap for easier handling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Perfect, tender crust! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My hubby loves my pie crust even better then the high end bakery. This crust is always flakey and never fails. I make this resipyjust how it is wrote no changing it. Sometimes I think of adding a little sugar but never have. Why change something when it isi perfect as it it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States