Best Ever Party Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
My fellow revelers did not try this, but their loss! This is so good! A unique offering for discerning tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a party pleaser, to be sure. To fix the spooning problem, I spooned each slice of the goat cheese mixture onto pita bread which I sliced into triangles. I added fresh minced cilantro on top also. HUGE HIT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRussell
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I agree with the name, this is a wonderful recipe and one of my favorites on the site yet! I had to make a lot of substitutions: fresh mozz for goat's cheese, tomatoes without oil, and dried herbs due to my grocery store not having anything I needed, and it still turned out great. I took it to a potluck and got rave reviews. Next time I'll plan ahead and get the proper ingredients and I bet it'll be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRussell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
The way to make this better-I used gouda and cut into smaller pieces-put it on the bread like brucetta. Very easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very yummy- expensive treat though. Only changes I made- used kalamata olives instead and put the entire mix in a plastic bag to mold it more into a log and slice off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We love this. I don't bother trying to cube the cheese ~ I roll it into little balls. In addition to being very tasty, the white cheese with the black olives, red tomatoes and green herbs makes for a pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Amazing. ended up rolling the goat cheese into little balls because it was easier. used dried rosemary, since I did not have fresh stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was very flavorful. I see what people are saying about the different kinds of goat cheese. It comes in different kinds of containers and some are softer (and harder to cut) than others. I just made mine a spread to keep it simple...it all ends up being a spread in the end anyways. I think it looks colorful either way. I found my goat cheese at a discount grocery store (Marc's) so it wasn't pricey AT ALL! It looks gourmet and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Very good and very popular. I served it with crackers because I thought the bread would be too filling. I tossed it gently in a bowl, chilled it overnight and served it in a shallow platter. It was a bit oily so next time I'll cut back on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FEEDTHEFLOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was my first experience with goat cheese, but I had all the other ingredients on hand, so I gave this recipe a try. The cheese was pretty crumbly to cut with a knife - perhaps I should have one of those cheese-slicing tools, and/or let the cheese soften a little at room temperature. Plus it came in a cylinder instead of a brick, so I couldn't get the desired uniform "one inch pieces". The sun-dried tomatoes came flavored with various herbs, so that boded well for a great-tasting dish. The garlic gloves should be small ones, I think - even halves of bigger cloves split the cheese pieces in my case; again, maybe the cheese should have been slightly softened. Therefore, I didn't bother leaving the toothpicks in. I did, however, serve it on thin slices of French bread, as suggested. In summary, this is not technically easy for a beginner to do, I don't think. It turned out a bit messy for me, but the combination of tastes here was very good. Thanks for a nice introduction to goat cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States