Best Ever Party Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is one of my favorite appetizers. I serve it with baguette slices that have been brushed with seasoned olive oil and broiled until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I really enjoyed this appetizer. I figured out what cheese is used in the photo.It's not the soft goat cheese but semi soft goat cheese. It is a little harder to find but is worth it because it doesn't crumble.I found this at Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe. I served it as an appetizer for a wine tasting party, and everyone agreed that it was simply fantastic. Everyone wanted the recipe. I made the recipe as is, but I did slice the cheese with dental floss. However, in the end, it didn't really matter, as the cheese did not retain it's shape. I did as another suggested and just put everything together in a plastic ziploc bag and "squished" it all together and put it into the refrigerator overnight. I then just inverted the bag to release the spread into a pretty bowl. I served it as a spread, along with a sliced baguette. It was devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. Slicing the cheese with dental floss did make it easier. I put it out with a knife and people smeared it on the bread like a spread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This didn't work for me. I was scared of the goat cheese and used havarti. This was the first time I used sun dried tomatoes- (I re-constituted them in warm water; maybe they should have been left dried) and they really overpowered the marinade. It gave it a really sweet flavor, which isn't what I expected from the reveiws. I thought it would be really sassy- maybe more of a strong garlic and herb flavor but it turned out sweet. My husband liked it though. I may try this again, with the crubled goat cheese food proccesor style, with the cream cheese and DRIED tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is divine! to avoid having trouble slicing the soft goat cheese - here's a trick: Use Dental Floss. Set the cheese on a cutting board and slice through the cheese with a piece of floss. This will create a smooth cut and not put so much pressure on the cheese to make it crumble. Sometimes it's easier to find goat cheese labeled as Montrachet Cheese (and under that you'll find a description of Goat Cheese). This tends to be a slightly firmer type of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Fabulous!! I used crumbled goat cheese instead of sliced because it is less $$ and MUCH easier to spread. I had the bakery slice baguettes to serve with it and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
So very very very good. It went in a matter of minutes. The goat cheese is very crumbly; I don't think the picture shown is of goat cheese. It's impossible to cube. Nonetheless, very delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Somehow this just didn't work well for me. The flavoring was great, but it was hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was good. I have to agree with another rating about using it as a spread. It was very difficult to handle and may have been easier as a spread. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States