Best Ever Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I would like to hug whoever MIDNIGHT_ANGEL is! These onion rings were exactly what I was craving. There was only one thing I did differently. I didn't have any onion salt on hand, so I used garlic salt instead. Talk about accidental genius! I will make this again and again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good!! Dipped them in flour first, like someone suggested, then in the batter. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Tried this for the first time -- and I have many many an onion ring in 45 yrs of marriage and I thought it was great! I thinned the batter just a bit with a little more milk. Had no problem with them being "donuts" or batter not sticking. Tasted great and will use this again and again! Thanks Angel for a gr8 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Tried them. Thought they were very good. Husband Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna Whitehurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
As the recipe author, I would like to correct the recipe. As a few reviewers have noted, the baking powder amount is high. This is indeed an error. Not sure if that was my original doing or from Allrecipes posting. The amount of baking powder should be 2 teaspoons, not 2 tablespoons. Also, if you would like to omit the baking powder all together, use self rising flour. Using self rising flour would omit the use of all-purpose flour and baking powder all together. This substitution makes for a super fluffy onion ring batter. I've used both variations and never had anyone not like them. An additional note: After removing the onion rings from the hot oil, one can quickly shake some additional onion salt if you prefer. Also, these can be dipped into original batter and then quickly dipped into bread crumbs for crunchier onion rings. It's all about preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was my first attempt at making onion rings at home, and I was quite pleased with them! I used half a cup of flour and half a cup of panko (Japanese) bread crumbs which increased the crunch factor. My husband loved them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I live in Maine which is the fried food state in the summer...I halved the recipe, the onion rings came out restaurant quailty. one thing I did do, was after I sliced rings I dusted the rings with flour and tapped loose flour off, then dipped... YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy
Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmystr
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were great!! Not like your typical rings, these had a really light crispy batter once fried. I only had one onion, but I was really craving onion rings so I halved the batter and it was perfect. I also used garlic powder in stead of the onion salt because 1. I love garlic powder in almost everything and 2. I didn't have any onion salt! lol I also only sprinkled some salt on the top at the end instead of in the batter (I'm not much of a "salty" person). Quick and easy. . . definitely a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. We use the same batter for battered mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used the recipe to make onion strings. I cut the onion into thin rings then halved them. Then dredged them in flour and into the batter. Turned out great! Add some chili powder or ceyenne pepper to the batter for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macattack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States