Best Ever Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
As the recipe author, I would like to correct the recipe. As a few reviewers have noted, the baking powder amount is high. This is indeed an error. Not sure if that was my original doing or from Allrecipes posting. The amount of baking powder should be 2 teaspoons, not 2 tablespoons. Also, if you would like to omit the baking powder all together, use self rising flour. Using self rising flour would omit the use of all-purpose flour and baking powder all together. This substitution makes for a super fluffy onion ring batter. I've used both variations and never had anyone not like them. An additional note: After removing the onion rings from the hot oil, one can quickly shake some additional onion salt if you prefer. Also, these can be dipped into original batter and then quickly dipped into bread crumbs for crunchier onion rings. It's all about preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I live in Maine which is the fried food state in the summer...I halved the recipe, the onion rings came out restaurant quailty. one thing I did do, was after I sliced rings I dusted the rings with flour and tapped loose flour off, then dipped... YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy
Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmystr
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These were great!! Not like your typical rings, these had a really light crispy batter once fried. I only had one onion, but I was really craving onion rings so I halved the batter and it was perfect. I also used garlic powder in stead of the onion salt because 1. I love garlic powder in almost everything and 2. I didn't have any onion salt! lol I also only sprinkled some salt on the top at the end instead of in the batter (I'm not much of a "salty" person). Quick and easy. . . definitely a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
they look much better than they taste, it was basically a bland pancake batter on onions. even with seasoning they didn't taste very good, I will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mack87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This batter was really fluffy. So if you like eating onion donuts this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was my first attempt at making onion rings at home, and I was quite pleased with them! I used half a cup of flour and half a cup of panko (Japanese) bread crumbs which increased the crunch factor. My husband loved them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I think that these turned out relatively well for my first attempt. I didn't have onion salt, so I used regular salt. They could have been more flavorful. I also tried to halve the recipe, however I found that 1/2 an onion used all of my batter. Perhaps my onions were larger than usually, but I'm greatful I didn't peal and cut 2 onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april3084

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. We use the same batter for battered mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. None of us liked them even a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Good jump off recipe we like more spice so we kicked the batter up a bit and they turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States