Best Ever New Zealand Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I baked this last night and assembled it today just before serving. It was a huge hit with my entire family. It is so hard to find a gluten free, chocolate free dessert. I topped it with whipped cream, lemon curd, and mixed fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
this is my first time leaving a review. i have been making pavlovas for years. i learned how from my sister in law who is from new zealand. this is the first time i make a pavlova that i could not serve. i followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out too soft. i then compared it too other recipes, and i believe the oven temperature to be too low. there was no crunchy outer shell. anyhow, i will try again with another recipe, bake at 350 and follow up with my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Here are a few more tips for making the perfect pavlova, my husband is a kiwi and have made this more times than I want to admit. First beat, beat , beat the eggs. Use "super fine" sugar not regular granulated. It helps it keep its height. Use white vinegar if you want a pure white pav. Using malt or balsamic will give you a off white color. Take a 8" round cake pan and draw a circle with it on the parchment paper. Pile the filling within the circle. Take a large spatula and smooth sides and flatten top. Make this at night and leave to cool in oven overnight. One last thing, I double the recipe for an 8" pav. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I thought it was super yummy, but I"m on try #2 and I'm STILL not getting the stiff egg whites that I want (and yes I"m using a hand held electric mixer). Not sure what I'm doing wrong but it's driving me nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I am originally from New Zealand and had been looking for a recipe for the pavlova that I remember having every Christmas in New Zealand and this is the one! Though I use malt vinegar, I found some London Pub Malt Vinegar at the store and it is just like I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwirn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. It comes together easily and the consistency, both before and after cooking is very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolishK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time baking and trying Pavlova! I recommend trying this recipe as it worked out extremely well for me. I followed others suggestions to pile the outside walls of the cake high before baking as it tends to spread out a little while in the oven. If you can't handle the sweetness, top it with raspberries as they will help balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very easy to make. Used the recipe to make small merengues for Christmas. Taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara van der Marel-Versluij

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wormerveer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yummy! I do have to say that I tried 2 different recipes on the same evening to make a double batch and to compare, and I liked the other recipe better. This one is a bit too complicated (the other is SO simple: just 4 egg whites, 1/8 tsp cream of tartar and 1 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla, baked at 225F for 1 or 1.5 hr.)... Anyway, this one didn't fluff up as much (I think its the 2 tbsp water that made it not stiffen as much). Also, it cracked quite a bit. The other one that I just mentioned was smooth and held its shape very nicely. Either way, you can't go wrong with this pavlova... very deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is recipie was awesome. So glad some one put in a new zealand recipie for the pav, its sooo good. But i wish people would also call it kiwifruit, rather that Kiwi, cos a kiwi is a bird lol. But anyway this recipe was awesome, def do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States