Best Ever New Zealand Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Made this at Christmas and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Some tips for those cooks who did not grow up downunder... Malt vinegar is the traditional vinegar used. This is the one recipe I do not hand mix. Out with the electric beater as it needs a good 10-15 minutes. If there is any yolk in the mix you will end up with pavlova pancake. Break all eggs separately and carefully. No stomping around the kitchen and no opening the oven door to check what is inside...otherwise pavlova pancake! If you don't have suitable fresh fruit, grated chocolate is also a good decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Excellent recipe. Easy to make and tasted wonderful. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Good on ya for representing New Zealand! it was New Zealand who invented Pavalova first, and not Austrailia [they invented lamingtons]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolishK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time baking and trying Pavlova! I recommend trying this recipe as it worked out extremely well for me. I followed others suggestions to pile the outside walls of the cake high before baking as it tends to spread out a little while in the oven. If you can't handle the sweetness, top it with raspberries as they will help balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very easy to make. Used the recipe to make small merengues for Christmas. Taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara van der Marel-Versluij

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wormerveer, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Delicious and beautiful. I did spread it out some before baking,and I topped it with lemon curd, strawberries,and kiwi. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
My mom is from Australia and made Pavalova while I was growing up. I saw this recipe and thought I would try it out. It's softer than my moms (which I liked). It was hard on the outside and marshmallowy in the middle. I put whipped cream, kiwis and bananas on it. It was an excellent dessert. Especially if you have some sweet teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
i was very impressed to see a new zealand recipe the only suggestion i can make is to have sliced kiwifruit with it there is nothing better.great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
For the pavlovas that turned out flat, you need to mould the meringue before you cook it into the shape you want. What works best for me is to have the walls of the circular meringue mound at least 1/3 higher than the middle. This way you can add whipped cream, strawberries, blueberries etc. Also, the cake will flatten out during cooking so mould it higher rather than wider before baking. Also, watch oven temperatures. Pavlovas need to be cooled slowly so I've found the best way is to turn the oven down bit by bit and then off. Then start to open the oven door bit by bit until it has cooled sufficiently. There will be less shrinkage this way. Also add more egg whites if you want a larger cake to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States