Best Ever New Zealand Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Some tips for those cooks who did not grow up downunder... Malt vinegar is the traditional vinegar used. This is the one recipe I do not hand mix. Out with the electric beater as it needs a good 10-15 minutes. If there is any yolk in the mix you will end up with pavlova pancake. Break all eggs separately and carefully. No stomping around the kitchen and no opening the oven door to check what is inside...otherwise pavlova pancake! If you don't have suitable fresh fruit, grated chocolate is also a good decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
For the pavlovas that turned out flat, you need to mould the meringue before you cook it into the shape you want. What works best for me is to have the walls of the circular meringue mound at least 1/3 higher than the middle. This way you can add whipped cream, strawberries, blueberries etc. Also, the cake will flatten out during cooking so mould it higher rather than wider before baking. Also, watch oven temperatures. Pavlovas need to be cooled slowly so I've found the best way is to turn the oven down bit by bit and then off. Then start to open the oven door bit by bit until it has cooled sufficiently. There will be less shrinkage this way. Also add more egg whites if you want a larger cake to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
My mom is from Australia and made Pavalova while I was growing up. I saw this recipe and thought I would try it out. It's softer than my moms (which I liked). It was hard on the outside and marshmallowy in the middle. I put whipped cream, kiwis and bananas on it. It was an excellent dessert. Especially if you have some sweet teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yummy! I do have to say that I tried 2 different recipes on the same evening to make a double batch and to compare, and I liked the other recipe better. This one is a bit too complicated (the other is SO simple: just 4 egg whites, 1/8 tsp cream of tartar and 1 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla, baked at 225F for 1 or 1.5 hr.)... Anyway, this one didn't fluff up as much (I think its the 2 tbsp water that made it not stiffen as much). Also, it cracked quite a bit. The other one that I just mentioned was smooth and held its shape very nicely. Either way, you can't go wrong with this pavlova... very deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Good on ya for representing New Zealand! it was New Zealand who invented Pavalova first, and not Austrailia [they invented lamingtons]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolishK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This was my first time baking and trying Pavlova! I recommend trying this recipe as it worked out extremely well for me. I followed others suggestions to pile the outside walls of the cake high before baking as it tends to spread out a little while in the oven. If you can't handle the sweetness, top it with raspberries as they will help balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is recipie was awesome. So glad some one put in a new zealand recipie for the pav, its sooo good. But i wish people would also call it kiwifruit, rather that Kiwi, cos a kiwi is a bird lol. But anyway this recipe was awesome, def do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Delicious and beautiful. I did spread it out some before baking,and I topped it with lemon curd, strawberries,and kiwi. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Made this at Christmas and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
wonderful ethnic dish. goes over great at Multicultural nite at the elem. school! Also popular with the Irish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States