Best Ever Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used this basic recipe and added sugar and cinnamon on top and it was great! Truly the best muffins ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would! This is a perfect base recipe. We mix up many batches by mixing and storing the dry ingredients in quart ziplocks for a quick fix (just write the additions and baking time on the bag). Every addition anyone has thought to try has worked great. We most often just toss frozen berries in and they work really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
My boys think these are the best muffins in the whole wide world (direct quote). We used homemade cinnamon applesauce in place of the vegetable oil and they were amazing! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I have made blueberry muffins several times, making no substitutions and adding 1 cup blueberries and 2 tsp vanilla extract. I am surprised at how much I enjoyed these muffins, since I have been disappointed with other blueberry muffin recipes on this site that use a lot more fat and sugar than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Sugar 1/2 cup. Been baking these for 40 years. They are always better than good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I wasn't impressed with this recipe, to me they weren't sweet enough. I wanted a plain muffin to make strawberry short cakes with. It might be better with fruit added. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I'm giving this 3 out of 5 stars because the baking time seemed way too long. I only cooked these for 20 minutes and they were still too dark. I should have started checking them at the 15 minute mark. Other than that the flavor was good. I usually make a muffin recipe that calls for buttermilk but I don't like having to buy a special ingredient just for muffins so thought I would give this one a try. I made 1/2 of the batch plain, then topped with melted butter, cinnamon and sugar. The other 1/2 I added chocolate chips to the batter. I will make again but adjust the time and/or temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Such a GREAT "last-minute" recipe! I added 1 apple shredded, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon and a good pinch of brown sugar. I also topped them with melted butter, old fashioned oats and brown sugar mixed together. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have been baking for over 25 years and tried at least 30 muffin receipes. This recipe is the best base recipe I have ever used. The only thing I changed was adding one teaspoon of vanilla and the trick one of the other reviewers had of preheating the oven to 425 and then as soon as you put the muffins in reducing to 400. I only need to bake mine for about 18 mins and they were tender and popped out of the pan just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States