Best Ever Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Um...okay, these are alright. Definitely not the best muffin in the world, but they are easy to adapt into a really good muffin. The issue I have with the recipe is the cooking time though...25 minutes...you have to be joking! If I let them cook for 25 minutes they would have been burnt to a crisp. My oven cooks at a consistent temperature and I use it daily, so I know it isn't off. 12 muffins at 400F for 13 minutes and they were golden brown. Thankfully I checked them and didn't just follow the timer on the stove!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knottyrye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Not impressed these turned into pretzels not muffins! Glad I have a pretzel recipe now but would not recommend for muffins... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I think this is an excellent base recipe which can be easily modified to make it more healthy and/or have different flavors. I add cocoa powder and chocolate chips for choc muffins, substitute 1 cup of white flour for wholemeal flour, substitute sugar for stevia baking crystals and so on and they always turn out great no matter what I do with them. Other muffins recipes always call for more eggs or sugar and seem way more unhealthy than these ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It was the first time I made muffins and it did come out very nice and risen. But I have to say it was really very plain eventhough I added the raisins. I should have put in some of the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
What an awesome basic muffin recipe! You can do many different flavors. Get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
WOWweeee! My newly-vegan husband loved my spin on these: Used 1/2 c. almond milk, no egg, no oil, one cup applesauce instead. 425° for 3 mins, then 400 for 22 more! I put frozen berries in the batter....DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have been looking for the perfect basic muffin recipe for a long time. I have tried TONS of recipes, only to find something wrong with every one of them. This one is the best. You can add ANYTHING to it!! I found it on Jan. 26th and I can tell you, I must've made them almost every weekend since then. I usually make blueberry(using frozen blueberries), or choc chip.The one thing I changed was, I add 2 tsp of vanilla flavoring. It makes a difference! Also, when making the blueberry muffins, I take about 15 blueberries aside and microwave them for about 40 seconds, mash them with a fork really well, and add to the mix. Brings out the blueberry flavor so much more. I think you could make any variety of muffin with this recipe. This will be my mainstay from now on. I can't see how anyone can not like these. Oh, I also start checking them at 20 minutes, to make sure they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These muffins were terrible, they had no taste at all and they would not brown up, far from the best muffins ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My family absolutely adores this recipe. So far we have made cranberry-orange-almond,apple raisin, blueberry lemon, and banana-peanut butter chip-almond, the possibilities are endless. A very quick go to, running out the door during the week and they do not last more than 30 minutes on the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This a wonderfully versatile recipe. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States