Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent! My very finicky husband and daughter LOVED it. I substituted seasoning salt for table salt, and since we "don't do spicy", I used worchesteshire sauce instead of chili sauce. This was the perfect quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is absolutely great. Very moist, excellent flavor, held together perfectly. This is the first meatloaf my family did Not pour ketchup over--the flavor was great just as it is. This will be the only meatloaf recipe we use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Made with gluten free bread crumbs because my husband has Celiac Disease and he said this was some of the best meatloaf he has EVER had. Very good tasting. Gravy was great too. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This may sound corny, but ever since hubby and I got married, every Valentines Day (or thereabouts), I make a heart shaped meatloaf. To add to my cornball personality, I "write" "I love you" with onions. Our girls obviously grew up with this tradition and believe it or not, look forward to this every year. I normally use only turkey meat to make my loafs, however, my older daughter has decided that she prefers her meatloaf made with beef. (I used half of each) Anyway, I didn't have any chili sauce in the house, so I can't comment on that issue. Once the meatloat was assembled, I poured about a half of a can of the beef broth over it. To make the gravy, I made a roux, (no cornstarch) using some of the fat from the drippings and then added more broth. Drew, Tyler and I really enjoyed this, however, poor Ash came down with a tummy virus this afternoon. Holly, I'm sure she'll love the leftovers when she's better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
meatloaf is ok but gravy is WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
We loved it! We found the gravy was a liitle bland, we'll probaly add a little beef bouillon and garlic next time. Otherwise it was great, very easy! We'll definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
The meatloaf itself was good, however an extra egg might have helped it hold together better. The gravy, however, wouldn't have had any flavor if it weren't for the mushrooms and onions. I probably will make it again, but I think I will mix a package of beef gravy mix into the beef broth and then add it to the mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This gravy is the best. It is so good I can eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Made this meatloaf several times. Not only does it taste good and please the entire family, it's a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Made this last night for hubby and me. We both thought it was one of the most tasty meatloaf recipes we'd ever tried, but I have to agree with other posters that the gravy doesn't really seem to go with the flavour of the meat. That's OK though, that just meant there was more for the roasted garlic mashed potatoes we had with it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States