Best Ever Meatloaf with Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I did not make this meatloaf but did make the gravy, it was awesome. I made 2 cups and added salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. Served over my own meatloaf recipe. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I had the same issues as some others with the meatloaf falling apart. next time i will add minced onion to it. the gravy was tasty, and needed to be doubled so that we could use it on the mashed taters that went along with the meal. i too made a rue with the butter and cornstarch and then slowly added the broth which i made from bouillon and potato water. next time i will add a splash of gravy master to make it a bit darker. thx for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Best meatloaf ever... just like the name. I add onion and garlic and some paprika with some chopped mushrooms and it really tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This meatloaf was great! I swapped the chili sauce for worchestire sauce but kept everything exactly the same. Came out very flavorful and moist. It was gone within 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The meatloaf part of this recipe didn't have much going on, so it didn't interest me. But the gravy did. This review, then, is for the gravy alone. It was wonderful. I added a little more cornstarch and the juices from the meatloaf. I generally make my meatloaf gravy like this but the mushrooms and minced onions were new additions I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
The gravy really made this recipe. Meatloaf tasted good right out of the oven, although it kinda fell apart... would use an extra egg next time. Leftovers, which I look forward to, were not so great. I think I really missed the onion in the meat, however, will make again with a couple of modifications. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
JUST REVIEWING THE GRAVY- I did not make the meatloaf, but I needed a quick and easy brown gravy for poutine. I can't use the packets due to food intolerances, and I didn't have any meat drippings on hand- The gravy was super easy and so Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
chili sauce??? - used tomato sauce & added seasonings to taste; also added garlic, finely chopped onion, worchester sauce; then cooked as stand alone loaf in baking dish so that all sides can brown. Additional spices were good idea o/w would have extremely bland. Pro is that recipe is easy & quick to get in oven. If more than 2-3 people & you want leftovers you may want to increase recipe size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Gravy Review ONLY! - I made the gravy from this recipe and I've got to say it was delicious! I didn't have mushrooms but even without them the gravy tasted great and it was very easy to make. This is definitely a keeper. I made it for another meatloaf recipe from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilboohbah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I had already made my meatloaf, and was looking for a gravy. This was good, but lacked something... maybe some garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States