Best Ever Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The meatloaf had a good flavor, but it didn't stay together very well. My grandma said to add a little baking powder, so I might try that next time. I used tomato sauce instead of juice and used a mix of ketchup and bbq sauce for the sauce on top. Overall this is a fairly good meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
i love this recipe i useually make mine from memory but i had to find a recipe for reference and this was closest. i use ketchup or a can of condenced tomato soup instead of juice just because i always have those around, and i always add worstershire sauce, and something like jamacan jerk or cajan to spice it up, and i like to top it with a ketcup, brown sugar, and mustard mixture, makes a sweet bbq as far as bread vs crackers, or oats, i'll use any of them but bread is actually my last choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Only if you jazz it up a lot. I added 3/4 cup of molasses, to sweeten it up, 1/2 large sauteed onion, minced carrots, 1/4 cup honey mustard dressing, 6 good squirts of Worcestershire Sauce, can of chopped tomatoes with basil and garlic, added an additional egg, probably put more quick oats than needed, in addition to 1 cup bread crumbs. I had enough for two loaves. I put cranberry mustard sauce on one, ketchup on the other. Both came out super moist an extremely flavorful. Even picky children enjoy it. I would not make meatloaf without throwing in a bunch of different things, it is far to bland and dry without the additions, which ever things you feel like putting in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
The meat eater husband was a big fan. I used homemade spaghetti sauce instead of tomato juice (had it on hand). When I asked him if I should make it again or keep looking for another meatloaf recipe, the one bad thing he said was that he likes his meatloaf a little firmer but that he would definitely eat it again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mynattygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was great and I don't even like meatloaf. I followed another members suggestion and added brown sugar in the mixture as well as coated the bottom and top. It leaves a nice crusty coating on top and adds some sweetness. I also used 1 cup of tomato sauce instead of tomato juice, worked fine. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I thought this meatloaf was delicious! I used half ground turkey though, to try and make it a little bit healthier. I omitted the onion and added garlic. I was never really a fan of meatloaf and was really surprised how tasty this came out! I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This meatloaf is fast & tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I've been trying to make my mom's meatloaf for almost two years and could not seem to get it right...so I started searching for different recipes and found this one. With a few alterations and additions, it came out fabulous. I didn't have quite enough oats, so I added a few pinchfulls of instant potato flakes; instead of tomato juice, I used most of a can of tomato sauce; a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce; about a teaspoon of mustard; instead of onions, about a teaspoon and a half of onion powder; and about a 1/4 cup of cheese. EXCELLENT base recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzehringer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgeville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lynn, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is just like the recipe that used to be on the container of Mother's Oats--we've been using it for 3 generations. Very versatile--I often cook it in holiday shapes on a cookie sheet (heart, shamrock, etc--made freehand) and glaze it with ketchup and A1 (3 T ketchup, 1 T A1). It cooks up much faster when made into a shape that's 1-2 inches thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Yummy. I used saltine crackers instead of the oats and liked it better. I also added ketchup for a more moist loaf. My kids even eat this and ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYBUGGY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States