BEST EVER Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe was all I had hoped it would be. Hot, creamy and delicious! My son wanted homemade mac n' cheese before heading back to school. I wasn't sure what he and DH would think of the tomatoes in this dish. Both loved it and said to be sure and save this recipe. I made it as written, only using low-fat cottage cheese and light sour cream. My son took most of the leftovers back to school with him. Thanks FrackFamily5 for sharing your recipe, it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made only one change--I cut the elbow macaroni in half and stirred in one cooked, drained package of SteamFresh broccoli cuts. My family thought this was okay, they didn't much care for the whole tomatoes in the dish. My husband thought it was a little bland. If I were to make this again, I'd use a can of diced tomatoes and stir the whole mess into the macaroni and cheese ingredients and maybe add a couple spices. I'll try it again that way, then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
In the interest of cutting down on the fat I used fat free sour cream, 1% milkfat cottage cheese, 2% reduced fat shredded cheddar and smart balance spread (1/2c) and omitted the can of whole tomatoes, I have to say it was just awful! I was curious, being with Weight Watchers and I can say it was definitely a waste of points, how many, I don't have a clue, I didn't eat much of it and will have to throw it out. I have come to the conclusion that the only way to have this is with the full fat ingredients, low fat and fat free do not do this justice. The best recipe on this site, "Moms' baked macaroni and cheese" is hands down the best!! I will just have to go back to that one and have it only occasionally. Oh well, live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I cooked some onion and bell pepper that had to be used up in the butter and added them to the mix. Other than that, kept it the same. Turned out good, and the leftovers are tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is better in my opinion without the cottage cheese. It's better to mix quickly after noodles are boiled and get a creamy cheesy mix...also might help to stir in a little milk as needed. I like fresh tomato slices on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stageright625

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This recipe reminds me of my 95 y.o. mom telling how her mom made this every Friday (they were Catholic) with home canned tomatoes. I always thought it sounded SO gross. Boy was I wrong. It is good w/store bought tomatoes and am hoping someday I'll be able to make it w/home canned. :-) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBTLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
totally subpar....almost like a, downgraded baked mostaccioli. pleb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was good . Next time will add more tomatoes , s&p , and cheddar. Nice and creamy . Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States