Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
These are the best jalapeno poppers I've ever had by far. Be warned, the prep time for this is much longer than the 45 mins listed - by the time you cut and de-seed all the peppers it had already taken more than 30 mins. I swapped out cheddar cheese for monterray jack (you won't regret it). I used the exact amounts specified and I had PLENTY of cheese filling left over (even after stuffing the peppers as full as I could). Before making these I read the reviews and many said they weren't spicy so I added the seeds from my biggest pepper into the cheese mix - The spiciness was perfect! Just be careful how many seeds you use as they can easily be over compensated. Some of the breading was falling off by the time they finished cooking but I don't think my oil was hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My girlfriend and I thought these were terrific! We need a little more practice in the breading department but all in all they were delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Wallace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
the flavor of these bad boys are amazing. Defenitely allow the time to prep as they do take some time and are a little messy but if you are a fan of jalapeno poppers. you MUST try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefkim21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved the recipe, i made 70 of them and froze em in. My batch of peppers was alot hotter than normal so i couldnt eat more than two at once(I had to stop myself from eating them, cause they were delicious). Most people that tried them and who werent lovers of spicy food couldnt eat em at all. I didnt listen to the warning of using rubber gloves and had to pay the price. I made them on a saterday and i couldnt sleep that night cause of the burning on my hands and face. The burning lasted till tuesday but luckely not as bad as the first day. Maybe its because we dutch people arent used to spicy food, but i went to hell that first night:p next time the rubber gloves are the first thing im gonna buy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great as written. Made a second batch with half blue cheese as well. You can easily tweek these for your preference. Used panko bread crumbs and only breaded once (I did try double breading on some - it didn't seem necessary and made batter too thick for my taste). Followed all the drying times and put finished poppers into fridge until ready to fry. Had zero issues. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I know some people were unhappy with the amount of heat, but even taking membranes and seeds out, some jalapenos keep much of their heat. Last year our jalapenos were extremely mild. We were able to eat them straight off the plant! This year they are hot and even stay hot after making them into poppers. They are still good after freezing and reheating in the oven. So glad to those who shared that info! I don't blanch them because I like the crunch of the pepper. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Like some of the other reviews after cutting the peppers in half and removing the seeds I bleached them in boiling water for a minute then placed in an ice bath. Dried them with paper towels before starting the whole process. Very time consuming but worth every minute. We freeze them once done then pack them up in bags of 12 each to keep frozen for football Sunday! The family loves them. The blanching of the jalapeño first makes the difference as sometimes in the frying process they didn't get cooked enough for our liking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry V.
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The first batch I made I used half a fresh pepper for each. Now, I like hot...but these were HOT! For the next batch, I divided the pepper into thirds. Much better. Don't be afraid to let them "rest" between coatings. A neat trick I never heard of but it works! Making them again real soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious! I blanched the jalapenos prior to stuffing them. I put in a little pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and cayenne to the mixture. I also added some of the seeds to the mixture to ensure it was spicy. I cooked them in the oven instead, at 425 for 15 minutes, turning them half way. Will definitely be prepping more to freeze them for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Ann Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made these for a get-together and everyone loved them. Granted, they took time. I threw them in the freezer after each coating (flour, breadcrumbs, breadcrumbs) to harden. I ran out of breadcrumbs it took so many, so be prepared with lots on hand. Also, I omitted the bacon bits. I did try baking these and did not like the texture - luckily I only baked 2 to see how they would taste. The rest we fried and they were incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Party Appetizer

These marinated rounds of goat cheese are bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States