Best Ever Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I just made this last night and it was GREAT. Easy to make. I had to add a little more flour because the consistency was too stick. Family thought it wasn't sweet enough so next time I am adding a little more sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
this bread hit some what the middle of the road for us. While I thought it was 3, my son gave it a 3. My oldest gave it a 4, while my middle daughter and my hubby gave it a 5. I'd never made this kind of bread. The recipe was very easy. It wasn't sweet, but was like a light biscuit bread. The raisins made it sweet. Can't say it was the best bread but can't say it was the worst either. But what I can say is that it was okay, but this batch needs to be divided into 2. The reason I say that is because It's so dense, that the bottom center never got completely baked even after it was in the oven an hour and 15 minutes. While it looked pretty, it was to thick. 2 smaller round loaves would have been better for the baking process. But I think in my own preference. To improve this better for my taste. Add just a hint of cinnamon to it. But it's an okay bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe...not like a traditional Irish soda bread...this is really like a cake. I added a touch of vanilla. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I baked this today, St. Patrick's Day, and absolutely loved it. Using the All Recipes calculator, I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8" iron skillet. I don't like the commercial soda breads that are dry and almost stale in texture. This was dense, but moist and it rose beautifully. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top so it smelled as good as it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just got this recipe today and decided to try it immediately. It was a breeze to mix up, didn't even need a mixer. I followed the recipe and directions exactly, except I didn't have a 9-inch round cake pan. Instead I used a round casserole dish the same size. The finished product is beautiful, rounded and golden brown. Once it cooled, I sliced it and it slices beautifully too. However the texture is not like any soda bread I've ever had before. It's more like a muffin or quick bread. It's a little bit sweet too. I think it would be marvelous with peanut butter on it and I will definitely make it again. I just won't plan to serve sandwiches on it. It would be lovely toasted with butter & jam with hot tea also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Glidden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Good Irish soda bread. I used white whole wheat flour and sugar in the raw in the same measurements as in the original recipe. I did not put the dough in a round pan based on the comments from another rater who said it is too much dough for the pan. I baked mine on a cookie sheet and it worked well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is the real deal as far as Irish Soda Bread is concerned, both my parent are from Ireland and while their recipes have a tiny bit of variance,(much like Italian families meatball recipes do) the end result is authentic and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made this for St. Patrick's Day. Followed suggestions and added 1/2 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Put batter in 2 9-inch cake pans. When they were done baking poured some melted butter on top and sprinkled on some green sugar. Turned out amazing!! Everyone loved it. Made 8 loaves and gave them out for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIFFS
Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terra-Matris
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This bread was wonderful...I added the dried fruit, and a bit of dark chocolate...HMmmm. This will become a "quick go-to recipe" for when you just want something quick, easy and wonderfully moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I hope everyone enjoys this recipe! This is my mom's recipe and it's pretty hard to beat! This is an authentic Irish-American recipe - that's what we are! My mom passed away in 2013 but she would be so happy knowing her wonderful recipe is being shared :) Can't wait to make this year, enjoy everyone! After you make it, try it lightly toasted smeared with some Irish butter... it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States