Best-Ever Cucumber Dill Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
best cucumber salad ever! I used raw sugar instead of white. absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
very good! used yogurt in place of sour cream and fat free Waldens mayo. Used 1/4 cup of yogurt and it still made a lot of dressing... and I forgot the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used sour cream in place of the yogurt. I used a whole cucumber and put in two teaspoons of dill. We loved it! It's definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Very tasty salad, thank you. I always buy Persian cucumbers, as we like them much better than "regular" ones (tender skin & meatier flesh). Since they're a lot smaller and thinner, I used 4. I only made two minor changes - omitted sour cream and just doubled the yogurt (Greek), and used 2 packets of Splenda instead of sugar because I'm cutting carbs. I doubt this made any difference in taste at all in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I rate this between 4~5. One, I didnt have celery so I had to leave it out. However, I cant imagine only using a 1/2 a cucumber. I also really don't care for a lot of dressing, so I used 1 medium cucumber and halved the dressing. I used a garden cucumber and peeled and de-seeded it. I cut the onion and cucumber between 1/8~1/4 inch slices, as it really didnt say. I used non fat yogurt, reduced fat sour cream, but regular mayo, which was what I had. Made as written, here, I got 3 servings at approximately 78 calories each. Overall, it was a little more vinegary, or tart, than I like. For the lime juice I used 1 1/2 tsp. when I halved it. I might test a little less white vinegar, though, next time. However, I liked the dill flavor and that the dressing was not real thick. I would still make this again. Note: Second time making, and still halving the dressing, I only did 1 Tblsp of white vinegar instead of 2 and that worked perfect. May even add another half a cucumber due to extra dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I grow my own cucumbers and make my own goat milk yogurt, so this recipe suited what I had on hand. The only change I made was using all drained yogurt instead of adding the sour cream. Everything else was the same. I have made this twice, doubling and tripling the the recipe, and we ate every bit It is a delicious way to use my bumper crop and holds in the refrigerator for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I had to use 2 (what I consider regular size) cucumbers to handle all the dressing the recipe makes, and I used the whole stalk of celery. I didn't have yogurt, so I used all sour cream. I also didn't have a lime, so I used a lemon. It was a good, light tasting salad. I will try it again with lime. *Update- I served this to my sister, and she loved it. I also tried it again with lime, and I liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We LOVED this! I used baby cukes (maybe 4), extra sour cream in place of the yogurt b/c I had none on hand and omitted the celery (personal preference). I can't believe it, but I totally forgot the vinegar in this, lol, but it was wonderful w/o it and stayed more on thick side rather than liquid-y, which we loved. I will def be making this again (the same way I did today)~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States