Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This recipe is a mild flavor. It is great. We are not a seafood-loving family but we really liked this. Since I have an allergy to wheat I substituted cornflakes for crackers. I bet the crackers would have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've never liked crab before, but for some reason I found myself with a whole fresh crab and I needed a recipe! This seemed to be one of the easier crab recipes and to a nonseafood eater--it was okay! I had everything except the tarragon--had no idea what to replace it with. Easy to make, and my husband said it tasted like other crab cakes he's eaten! If you aren't a seafood type, I suggest a little less crab and more crackers...maybe more seasonings. I'd eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Didn't have tarragon, used canned crabmeat and used potatoe chips (instead of bread crumbs, because of allergy) - VERY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
It was good, but kind of bland. I think this may be my fault as I used can crab instead of fresh crab. There wasn't much going on here, more like crab biscuits... Served with Creamy Dill Sauce (always good). Would try this again with fresh crab, possibly imitation crab. Just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Really good and easy too. I didn't have tarragon so I just used some Old Bay seasoning and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
this is an easy and excellent recipe. I made it for superbowl and made 100 of them as we had a big party. everyone loved these and wanted the recipe... thank you it's awesome.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
We love this recipe. Great alternative to those who do not like strong seasonings (such as bay).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I made adjustments to make 6 crab cakes, because I had 12 oz of crab. I'm rating this a 3 only because we have never had crab cakes before. So maybe we just don't care for them at all. Nothing against this recipe. I don't know. Either way, we didn't like them enough to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I used regular bread crumbs and I didn't have tarragon so I used Old bay seasoning TM and added a little garlic powder and tobasco and a little dijon mustard and it was wonderful! My husband LOVED IT!!! He's very picky and said these were the best crab cakes he'd ever eaten. It HAS to be the best. :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Good but heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States