Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
We substituted 1/2 cup crushed sesame crackers (gluten free) for the ritz crackers, 1/2 tsp Old Bay for tarragon, and added ground black pepper & celery seed. These turned out perfectly! Browned cakes completely on one side, flipped, cooked lightly on second side, then put under low broiler until everything else was ready. This made 8 small patties for crab cake benedict, served with Knorr hollandaise sauce, which we seasoned with extra lemon juice and a little cajun hot sauce for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was my first time making crab cakes, and they were amazing!! I love this recipe! I was nervous that the crab cakes would fall apart when I cooked them, but they didn't! I doubled the recipe, since the can of crab that I bought was 16 ounces. I also substituted panko for the crushed buttery round crackers. I found a recipe, on allrecipes, for a red pepper sauce. I was very pleased with this sauce too. I had a few leftover crab cakes, so I froze them and reheated them two weeks later. They were as good as they were the first time. These crab cakes are easy and delicious. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan103

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Amazing!! We try crab cakes at every restaurant we go to, and these were our favorite!! We have the power to make them anytime we want!! I might add corn to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipie is really easy and my husband (who doesnt like seafood) loves them. The only thing I have changed is I use garlic powder instead of the tarragon as I dont have that in the house. I let them sit in the fridge for an hour prior to putting them in the oven. Once in the oven at 350 degrees I cook for 6-8 mins per side and then broil them for until I have the desired crispiness which is usually for another 3-5 mins per side. I serve it with my ceasar salad and some tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great recipe. very easy. I used Old Bay Blackening seasoning and didn't have tarragon. I used more green onions than called for and wished I didn't. As written, I'm sure the onion level is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious. I actually doubled my crabmeat (top quality) but kept the rest of the ingredients as is. They were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I really liked this recipe. The flavor was excellent and they were easy to fry in the pan without falling apart. I make mini crab cakes with this recipe and put a dab of cajun aioli on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made these with canned salmon instead of crab because that's what I had in the pantry. I left out the tarragon and replaced the buttery crackers with Panko crumbs. I then added a couple of tablespoons of Asian Chili/Garlic sauce for flavor and color. All other ingredients were the same as the original. I baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, until slightly browned on edges. Nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good, but mine fell apart. Not pretty, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These are fabulous! They are one of the best crab cakes I have had. I recommend buying the freshest lump crabmeat you can find. That will produce the best tasting crab cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States