Best Ever Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These were great! I had never made crab cakes before, or cooked from scratch with any type of seafood for that matter, and these were pretty easy! I like that you can make them ahead too. I like crab cakes, but my boyfriend LOVES them. He said that these were better than those we ordered in restaurants, so I was pretty pleased with that. This is a good dinner for two adults - each person gets two cakes. My only criticism of the recipe is that that the cakes should be cooked on low-medium heat, not medium. I had my burner set to medium (per the directions) and I burned the butter and had to re-do that part. Other than that, it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe! We will make these a lot, I'm sure! For the sauce, I used the "Crab Cake Sauce" submitted by Sal on this website, and it was great (though it was way more than we needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Super yummy! I made these on a whim with a two dollar can of ghetto wal-mart crab meat and onion powder instead of green onions and they were still good! (Now THAT is saying something) For a sauce I ate them with a mix of mayo, sour cream, and cilantro. nice little lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
we had to use extra crackers b/c it was too runny, but aside from that it was easy and delicious. we served with garlic aioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Love, love, love!! Super simple and can be prepared in advance... Cookouts and dinner parties alike rave over these!! Btw, loved so much... This is my very first review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Me and my family didnt like. It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AimeeElliott
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made these for the Preakness Race in 2012 and they were incredibly good! These were the changes that I made: *1 packet of Old Bay Crab Cake Seasoning *4 Tablespoons of Panko crumbs instead of the cracker crumbs. *I sprayed a baking sheet with Olive Oil Pam and baked at 350 for 8 minutes on each side. Then, I switched the oven to broil and broiled until golden on each side (about 3-4 minutes each side). This recipe made 15 4.5 inch patties. I garnished them with a fresh lemon slice and a sprinkle of fresh dill and served them with Tartar Sauce and Brown Spiced Mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AimeeElliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
We substituted 1/2 cup crushed sesame crackers (gluten free) for the ritz crackers, 1/2 tsp Old Bay for tarragon, and added ground black pepper & celery seed. These turned out perfectly! Browned cakes completely on one side, flipped, cooked lightly on second side, then put under low broiler until everything else was ready. This made 8 small patties for crab cake benedict, served with Knorr hollandaise sauce, which we seasoned with extra lemon juice and a little cajun hot sauce for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was my first time making crab cakes, and they were amazing!! I love this recipe! I was nervous that the crab cakes would fall apart when I cooked them, but they didn't! I doubled the recipe, since the can of crab that I bought was 16 ounces. I also substituted panko for the crushed buttery round crackers. I found a recipe, on allrecipes, for a red pepper sauce. I was very pleased with this sauce too. I had a few leftover crab cakes, so I froze them and reheated them two weeks later. They were as good as they were the first time. These crab cakes are easy and delicious. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan103

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Amazing!! We try crab cakes at every restaurant we go to, and these were our favorite!! We have the power to make them anytime we want!! I might add corn to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipie is really easy and my husband (who doesnt like seafood) loves them. The only thing I have changed is I use garlic powder instead of the tarragon as I dont have that in the house. I let them sit in the fridge for an hour prior to putting them in the oven. Once in the oven at 350 degrees I cook for 6-8 mins per side and then broil them for until I have the desired crispiness which is usually for another 3-5 mins per side. I serve it with my ceasar salad and some tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States