Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
It's SuperBowl Sunday, I have the chili, forgot the muffins. Like the others in decreased the bisquick and increased the cornmeal. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I followed bcrocker's suggestions and thought the muffins were good. They seemed to taste a bit like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've tried many, many cornbread recipes over the years and have always found them to be far too dry. But these are perfectly - MOIST! The sugar adds just the right amount of sweetness without turning it into a "dessert" muffin. Great with a pork roast. I made minor alterations - I increased cornmeal to 1/2 cup, reduced biscuit mix to 1 1/4 cups and added 1/2 cup of frozen corn [thawed]. Definitely earned a spot in my favorite recipes file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This are amazing! I did change the bisquick to cornmeal ratio (1 1/4cup bisquick and 1/2 cup cornmeal). I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yes, they're sweet... But these muffins are delicious! I followed the original recipe as is, and next time I will use 1/2 cup cornmeal as other reviewers had said. Other than that, the recipe is great. If you are in the south, these will not be your typical corn muffin! This is a northern-tasting recipe, the land of sweet cornbread. I used white cornmeal and they still turned out golden yellow (probably because of the eggs and butter), so if white cornmeal is all you have, no worries, you'll still get golden corn muffins. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I LOVE these corn muffins! My dad grew up on dry cornbread so he isn't a fan of these but as I was never a fan of dry, sometimes not even cooked all the way through cornbread, I was instantly hooked! Best ever for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is very good and provides just the right amount of sweetness. I made muffins and the whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These are good but quite crumbly. I substituted butter-flavoured margarine for the butter, reduced the sugar to 4 TBsps. and omitted the vanilla extract. I used roughly 1/3 cup of cornmeal, but cannot be certain on the amount as I simply dumped whatever little bit was left in the bag into this; to compensate however I reduced the baking mix to 1 1/4 cups. I made mini muffins and baked for 15 minutes. I forgot to grease my pan and the bottoms stuck- No matter, we'll still eat them broken and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I followed other reviewers' advice and used 5 tablespoons of sugar, 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla. Also used 1 1/4 c of bisquick and 1/2 cup of cornmeal. The taste was absolutely perfect, however mine came out extremely heavy. I filled the cups 2/3 full with batter and it never rose. Not sure what I did wrong, I did make sure not to over-stir the batter when adding in the cornmeal & bisquick. Any other suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States