Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Good, but definitely cake-ish. Followed the recipe exactly and had a hard time tasting the "corn" part. Daughter loved them, probably because they were so sweet! If I want to do a true cornbread recipe, I'd try a different one. However, they are still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I think the important thing to remember is that is not going to be the best corn muffin ever ~ but it is the best corn muffin using BAKING BISCUIT MIX ~ I modified according to what other reviewer's suggested and this recipe tasted pretty good: decrease sugar to 5 tbsp, decrease vanilla to 1/2 tsp, decrease bisquick to 1 1/4 cup and increase cornmeal to 1/2 cup. Just the right amount of corn taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by MunecaBrava
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I also had to make the adjustments suggested for the bisquick mix and sugar and vanilla... Thanks to those adjustments these turned out moist and delicious!! I also had to adjust the cooking time to 15 at 350 since my oven seems to be a bit stronger then other ovens I have cooked in before. Would DEF make these again and have already passed on the recipe to other family members. Also, don't let the batter sit out for any period of time as the cornmeal starts to thicken up fairly quickly once mixed with the wet ingredients. Found these to be a bit gritty but my sister says that real corn muffins are gritty so I guess this is normal. They were still very good and I highly suggest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Steve LOVES these. Tried and true
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
All liked but we've had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These were very delicious! I sprinkled a little bit of sugar on top as well because I think that's what a restaurant we went to did- other than that, I followed the recipe to a T. It was wonderful! They almost made my main meal look sub-par. I was totally happy just eating corn muffins and never eating the main dish, lol. I got 14 muffins out of the recipe. The only thing that made me give 4 stars instead of 5 was that I wished they would have been more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Love these muffins!! I like that it is NOT cornbread, which tends to be to dry for me. I love the fluffy cake like texture and corn taste. For my family this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I didn't like these very much. They did not taste much like cornbread. I followed the recipe exactly because I like to give it a chance without making changes the first time around. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndcathie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
With modifications, this is the best corn bread I've ever had. I modified as per another reviewer: decrease sugar to 5 tbsp, decrease vanilla to 1/2 tsp, decrease bisquick to 1 1/4 cup and increase cornmeal to 1/2 cup. I also added a can of drained corn. With how sweet this was with the decrease of sugar, i can only imagine what 9 TB would have tasted like! Modified as above, Five Star Corn Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Switch out the measurements for the cornmeal and biscuit mix, leave out the vanilla, then you can call this corn muffins. Oh yes cut the sugar to 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States