Best Ever Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was a great recipe! I can't have sugar so I replaced sugar with 6 Tablespoons of Splenda. I also cut back on baking mix and increased corn meal. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I've been struggling to find a cornmeal in this side of the world. My sister suggested to use corn flakes instead. So I powdered it, but wasn't able to make it fine. I used 1 cup of that powdered corn flakes + 1 cup of baking mix. I used less sugar (3 Tbsp of brown sugar and 2 Tbsp of white sugar). This turned out really really great, with a bit of the crunch of corn flakes. I put a cream cheese toppings on some of them. Love this one! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Best sweet corn muffins ever! I made a few changes that made them AMAZING! First off, I took the baking mix down to 1 1/4 c. and increased the corn meal to 1/2 c. I also only used 5 tbsp. of sugar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Lightly sweet and the perfect amount of corn taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Very good recipe if you are looking for a sweeter flavored muffin. I really liked the taste the vanilla extract gave it as well. I used buttermilk flavored cornmeal, instead of yellow as it states and it turned out excellent. I was looking for a sweeter type bread to have with a savory roast - so this really was a perfect compliment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a keeper. My family enjoys them. Very easy to make. I use cupcake liners for easy cleanup but of course you don't have to. These are lighter in texture than what I am use to (which is great). Vanilla makes them awesome. Don't take the vanilla out like other reviewers have stated until you tried it first please. We have these with our dinner atleast once a week. Great recipe!!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMIE5474

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stewartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was better than I thought it would be. Nice light texture and good flavor. I added some corn kernels and doubled the amount of corn meal. Also omitted vanilla, which seemed like an odd thing to put in corn muffins (the amount of vanilla must be a misprint - I don't put that much in my desserts). It takes just as much time to prepare a traditional, from-scratch recipe, which is what I'll probably do in the future because we prefer a denser result. But very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
These were pretty good. They were a little too sugary for me and my husband, but not my 2 year old. I added extra corn meal to the batter to get more of that corn muffin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I am always looking for something new to try, and today was the day for these muffins. I have eaten quite a few corn muffins in my day, but none quite compare to this recipe. The flavor was great (even though I questioned using vanilla in them). The texture was wonderful; light and airy....unlike the "standard" corn muffin. I did however bake them in a LAGRE 6 Cup non-stick muffin pan (I like MUFFINS, not cupcakes), without the liners and sprayed with a bit of cooking spray, they popped out just wonderfully, and were done in just 25 minutes. I immediately ate 2 smothered with some butter and a nice hot cup of coffee. This recipe will definitely be added to my large and growing collection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I used 1/3 of a cup of cornmeal like another user had suggested. I left out the vanilla by accident, but I think that next time I will try adding 1 tsp of it like other users suggested. Overall, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States