Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I had never made cinnamon buns before. It had been eight years since Ive baked anything besides biscuits from the pioneer mix. This is a good recipe, it's easy to make ok cinnamon rolls, but for really good to great takes a little tweaking the recipe. Ive made this recipe about 8 times now. From following the recipe word for word and having to add more flour, to adjusting the amount of water. Like gardengirl said, you need to adjust the flour or amount of water. The first change I made was to the flour, but the rolls came out a little flat in taste, next time I tried less water it was ok. Third I tried more flour again but added 1/2 cup sugar. I found the adding slightly more flour with sugar to be good. Also after reading gardnergirl I went with a way sticker dough than I had done anytime before and with a harsher/longer kneading, my buns became much fluffier. one key is the rising. It must rise. both before you roll out and after you cut the rolls (use a way sharp knife, I use a steak knife and mind the counter or your wife will totally freak.) for a good rise you need a good yeast mix. may help to add a teaspoon of sugar to yeast mix even if your using 'easy yeast'. also dont roll out too thin, roll it out a little thicker than you think may be necessary this will really help in the fluffy. I roll mine out thick on one end, thin on the starting end then I roll a little loose to much tighter. this gives center room to expand and will alleviate the cinnamon-mountain. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These turned out great yet only because I didn't panic. You say use only 6 cups of flour yet 1 and 1/2 cups of water when dissolving the yeast. This faulty ratio almost wasted a lot of food yet my dad came to the rescue. We ended up using 13 cups of flour because a dough couldn't be made from that original ratio. I strongly suggest you use less water or more flour to save yourself a mess. The end result was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyCheMicALmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was truly the best cinnamon buns i've ever had.I never made cinnamon buns before,I made it for a special Thanksgiving breakfast and this recipe made me want to do it again. Everyone loved it we could've ate them all in one sitting but they were very filling. My whole family wants me to do it again for a special Christmas breakfast and I think I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These cinnamon rolls turned out GREAT!! I'm a high school student and I made them for some of my guy friends and male teachers. They loved them. My sister wants to start a new Christmas tradition with them because she loved them so much! I was a little concerned at first because the dough was so sticky (I was afraid I had lost count on the flour) but after kneading and rising, the dough was easy to roll out with flour. I used the suggested icing instead of the icing that came with the recipe and it was amazing. That icing was- 1/2 cup butter, softened; 8 oz. cream cheese, softened; 2 tsp. vanilla; and 4 cups powdered sugar. Combine butter and cream cheese, then add sugar and vanilla. I also added much more cinnamon and sugar to the rolls so you could really taste it. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I wasn't too impressed with these. I followed the recipe but the buns were heavy and hard and I didn't like the icing. I'm going to keep looking for a recipe and will stick to the traditional cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Have made these one time so far. Great taste and texture of a professional bakery. I will make again, and try to follow the recipie more closely. Like one of the other reviews I had to add more flour and my icing came out clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Deelicious! The dough is pretty hard to work with," but that's because the recipe calls for yellow cake mix. I'm pretty sure it'll be okay with white cake mix as well (another cinnamon rolls recipe uses white cake mix and the dough is actually easier to work with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I followed this exact recipe to make snacks for our church and everybody loved them! They turned out wonderful. Very moist, and perfectly flaky. A friend was shocked to hear they were homemade and thought they'd come from a bakery! I had four of them myself. This recipe is really easy to follow, and I recommend it for beginner bakers like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Best Ever! For months I hesitated writing a review since I use the recipe to make rolls, not buns. Recipe is made every four to eight weeks to freeze for future use (they don't last long in our household). Having bought a package of factory-made cinnamon rolls with layers that peeled away, I was intrigued to make them. After watching allrecipes' video on making cinnamon rolls, I chose to use this recipe. Within six months, I perfected the method I needed. The last batch yielded 10 dozen rolls. Needs no sugar coating. I separate dough into four balls, not two. Each ball is rolled out approximately 3/8- to 1/2-inch thick. To create layers that peel off, spread more soft butter on top of dough (I use about 1/3 to 1/2 stick). Using a sifter, I evenly spread a layer of cinnamon/sugars/pinch of nutmeg on the butter then hand-sprinkle finely-chopped nuts on top of that. Using a dull knife, I cut the rolled out dough in half and roll individually. This allows me to roll the dough tightly making it as small as possible (remember, dough will rise before baking). Again using a dull knife, I cut 1/2-inch thick pieces along the entire length of the log. With a metal spatula, I carefully move then lay each piece flat on a cookie sheet to rise. Recipe bakes as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I love bread but every time I tried to make one, it turn out hard so I quit trying until I find this recipe. Making bread with combination of flour and cake mix was brilliant!! My bread turn out very soft even after 3 days... By the way, when I prepare the cinnamon-sugar filling, I just realized that I just have enough cinnamon for half the dough so I shape the other half of the dough to dinner roll. I got 12 cinnamon buns and 16 dinner rolls and I like the dinner roll better :-) Thank you for this recipe! Now I can make home made bread which is better than buying from the bakery shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States