Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good, but definitely needed more filling. Used a whole lot more than six cups of flour to get the dough to a workable consistency. Cinnamon buns were very "bread-like". Be sure to check out the "Clone of a Cinnabon" recipe if you're looking for something a little more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheMadBaker313
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I am a cinnamonbunaholic if that's possible. I have made many many different recipes and so far, this is the best I have found. I like them large, so I usually only get 16-18 from the recipe and I use more cinnamon than recommended, but these are SOOOOOOO GOOD! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe was really sub-par. I was leery of a cake mix in a bread recipe to begin with but I had one I needed to use up so thought what the heck. First of all, after adding all the ingredients the "dough" was like soup. I added at least another 2 cups just to get a very soft dough, really should have added more but didn't want them to end up tasting flour-y. Finally, the finished product was seriously lacking in any flavor other than a slight cake mix taste. Sorry I will never again veer from the Clone of a Cinnabon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made these twice and I have to say my family love them! Very easy and very rewarding. If you are making cinnamon buns for the first time, I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! My kids won't eat the pilsbury cinnamon buns...only if it's the last resort for breakfast...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
WOW! are these good. I was a bit skeptical about using a cake mix to make cinnamon rolls but I am SO glad that I did! These are so flakey and moist. My hubby, who is a huge cinnabon fan, LOVES them!. Only changes were that I used bread flour instead of all purpose, added a tsp of vanilla to the dough mix and doubled the butter and the filling (hey if you are going to be bad be ALL the way bad!). I made a simple cinnamon/vanilla icing drizzle to add a bit of "sweet" to the tops. They turned out great! Take a chance on this recipe. SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Seriously these are the best ever. I was experimenting with several different recipes in an effort to find the perfect one, and now I can stop. Hands down my whole family's favorite. Thank you for this heavenly recipe! It may be the humidity here in Houston, but I knead in at least an extra cup of flour to the sticky dough, just until it's workable. After it rises, stickiness is no longer an issue. And I use soy milk in the icing, for what it's worth. The best part about these rolls, besides the taste of course, is that they're reproducible - I get the exact same yummy result each time. Making them ahead works well, too - I just put the risen rolls in the fridge in their pans and let them come to room temp before I bake. This recipe is also adaptable for being creative. My daughter loves pink, so I tried a strawberry cake mix - delicious! - and then I found that lemon, orange, banana, and chocolate (with Nutella in the middle!) all work well. Sometimes I replace some of the butter in the icing with cream cheese. I'm looking forward to trying brown sugar with the cinnamon next time. Long story short - make them! You'll be glad you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatepah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was the nicest yeast dough I have ever seen, you could do a lot of different stuff just with the dough, but I made two pans of it makes a lot. They were THE BEST EVER!! They take some time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used whole wheat flour to make them and they were not good. My fault, may have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are the best! I made them with Christmas breakfeast. Easier than I thought it would be. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to do the kneading. Using this recipe I made 34 buns. I made the cream cheese frosting that another poster shared and it was great! Thanks for the recipe I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States