Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Deelicious! The dough is pretty hard to work with," but that's because the recipe calls for yellow cake mix. I'm pretty sure it'll be okay with white cake mix as well (another cinnamon rolls recipe uses white cake mix and the dough is actually easier to work with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I followed this exact recipe to make snacks for our church and everybody loved them! They turned out wonderful. Very moist, and perfectly flaky. A friend was shocked to hear they were homemade and thought they'd come from a bakery! I had four of them myself. This recipe is really easy to follow, and I recommend it for beginner bakers like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Best Ever! For months I hesitated writing a review since I use the recipe to make rolls, not buns. Recipe is made every four to eight weeks to freeze for future use (they don't last long in our household). Having bought a package of factory-made cinnamon rolls with layers that peeled away, I was intrigued to make them. After watching allrecipes' video on making cinnamon rolls, I chose to use this recipe. Within six months, I perfected the method I needed. The last batch yielded 10 dozen rolls. Needs no sugar coating. I separate dough into four balls, not two. Each ball is rolled out approximately 3/8- to 1/2-inch thick. To create layers that peel off, spread more soft butter on top of dough (I use about 1/3 to 1/2 stick). Using a sifter, I evenly spread a layer of cinnamon/sugars/pinch of nutmeg on the butter then hand-sprinkle finely-chopped nuts on top of that. Using a dull knife, I cut the rolled out dough in half and roll individually. This allows me to roll the dough tightly making it as small as possible (remember, dough will rise before baking). Again using a dull knife, I cut 1/2-inch thick pieces along the entire length of the log. With a metal spatula, I carefully move then lay each piece flat on a cookie sheet to rise. Recipe bakes as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I love bread but every time I tried to make one, it turn out hard so I quit trying until I find this recipe. Making bread with combination of flour and cake mix was brilliant!! My bread turn out very soft even after 3 days... By the way, when I prepare the cinnamon-sugar filling, I just realized that I just have enough cinnamon for half the dough so I shape the other half of the dough to dinner roll. I got 12 cinnamon buns and 16 dinner rolls and I like the dinner roll better :-) Thank you for this recipe! Now I can make home made bread which is better than buying from the bakery shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Love it, love it, love it! I cut the recipe in half by using a 9oz yellow cake mix, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly- only used 6 cups of flour- and I freaked out a little bit because the dough was SO RUNNY and STICKY- I couldn't imagine that they'd come out ok. BUT, they did!!!! They were delicious! (Next time I'm going to try a little more flour to see if that makes any difference- but these are good as written)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
kids wanted to eat cinnamon rolls and fast!! We looked through recipies and found this quick one. They had fun making it. My kitchen was a mess but the buns were awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were excellent! Surprisingly, not too sweet and super easy to make. I did add a little more flour as some of the other reviews suggested. It is quite pleasant with a hot cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
whoa these were amazing!!! my dough didn't really rise in the beginning but i rolled it out anyways and followed instructions. i let them rise for about 35 mins while they were cut and in the pan. to make them super gooey i melted on a saucepan a stick of butter with 1/2 cup of brown sugar and poured half on top and half on the bottom of the pan before i baked them and they're amazing. i also used 8 oz creamcheese, a stick of butter, 2 tsps vanilla extract, and 3 cups confectionary sugar for the icing. however the process took me half a day. so these are nice for every once in a while. thanks a lot =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were amazing! I just had one question.....as they baked the butter/sugar mixture in the dough melted and pooled around the rolls....this caused the bottoms of the rolls to get very brown and hard. I used two pans...one stone and one metal and the rolls on the metal pan even tasted a little like burnt sugar......HOW DO I PREVENT THIS? (I did follow the recipe and did not increase the mixture at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States