Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are the best! I made them with Christmas breakfeast. Easier than I thought it would be. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to do the kneading. Using this recipe I made 34 buns. I made the cream cheese frosting that another poster shared and it was great! Thanks for the recipe I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama0607
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
these truly are the best ever! I did change the filling and made my own mixture of 1c butter, 1c each white and brown sugar and some cinnamon. Just kinda tossed it in the bowl and mixed it up, then spread it on the dough before rolling. This made it much for sticky and sweet! yumm! Also I used the cream chz icing instead of the icing listed here. Much more tasty. I've received rave reviews with this recipe. Family and friends asking for the recipe and my inlaws even want me to mail them some! lol One other thing I did after reading other reviews, I let the dough rise for 2 hrs initially. It's work, but well worth it! I highly recommend making this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
OMG!!!!! Wonderful will make these ALL the time now!!! But DO USE PHILLY CHEESE RECIPE FROSTING!! 8oz soft philly 1cup butter creamed together, then add 4 cups conf sugar 1 tsp vanilla. EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I had never made cinnamon buns before. It had been eight years since Ive baked anything besides biscuits from the pioneer mix. This is a good recipe, it's easy to make ok cinnamon rolls, but for really good to great takes a little tweaking the recipe. Ive made this recipe about 8 times now. From following the recipe word for word and having to add more flour, to adjusting the amount of water. Like gardengirl said, you need to adjust the flour or amount of water. The first change I made was to the flour, but the rolls came out a little flat in taste, next time I tried less water it was ok. Third I tried more flour again but added 1/2 cup sugar. I found the adding slightly more flour with sugar to be good. Also after reading gardnergirl I went with a way sticker dough than I had done anytime before and with a harsher/longer kneading, my buns became much fluffier. one key is the rising. It must rise. both before you roll out and after you cut the rolls (use a way sharp knife, I use a steak knife and mind the counter or your wife will totally freak.) for a good rise you need a good yeast mix. may help to add a teaspoon of sugar to yeast mix even if your using 'easy yeast'. also dont roll out too thin, roll it out a little thicker than you think may be necessary this will really help in the fluffy. I roll mine out thick on one end, thin on the starting end then I roll a little loose to much tighter. this gives center room to expand and will alleviate the cinnamon-mountain. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These turned out great yet only because I didn't panic. You say use only 6 cups of flour yet 1 and 1/2 cups of water when dissolving the yeast. This faulty ratio almost wasted a lot of food yet my dad came to the rescue. We ended up using 13 cups of flour because a dough couldn't be made from that original ratio. I strongly suggest you use less water or more flour to save yourself a mess. The end result was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyCheMicALmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was truly the best cinnamon buns i've ever had.I never made cinnamon buns before,I made it for a special Thanksgiving breakfast and this recipe made me want to do it again. Everyone loved it we could've ate them all in one sitting but they were very filling. My whole family wants me to do it again for a special Christmas breakfast and I think I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These cinnamon rolls turned out GREAT!! I'm a high school student and I made them for some of my guy friends and male teachers. They loved them. My sister wants to start a new Christmas tradition with them because she loved them so much! I was a little concerned at first because the dough was so sticky (I was afraid I had lost count on the flour) but after kneading and rising, the dough was easy to roll out with flour. I used the suggested icing instead of the icing that came with the recipe and it was amazing. That icing was- 1/2 cup butter, softened; 8 oz. cream cheese, softened; 2 tsp. vanilla; and 4 cups powdered sugar. Combine butter and cream cheese, then add sugar and vanilla. I also added much more cinnamon and sugar to the rolls so you could really taste it. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I wasn't too impressed with these. I followed the recipe but the buns were heavy and hard and I didn't like the icing. I'm going to keep looking for a recipe and will stick to the traditional cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Have made these one time so far. Great taste and texture of a professional bakery. I will make again, and try to follow the recipie more closely. Like one of the other reviews I had to add more flour and my icing came out clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Deelicious! The dough is pretty hard to work with," but that's because the recipe calls for yellow cake mix. I'm pretty sure it'll be okay with white cake mix as well (another cinnamon rolls recipe uses white cake mix and the dough is actually easier to work with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States