Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by jowolf2
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did use a brown sugar instead of white and also changed the glaze to a brown sugar and butter glaze and they were very caramely!! A big hit at my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
It goes with name indeed. It's so big, soft & fluffy. In a few minutes I take out from the oven the whole tray was gone! Sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The best cinnamon buns that i have ever made. I did have to use 2 cups more flour to make the dough workable. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I made this for Christmas Breakfast, and it was a real hit with the family - light and fluffy, even 3 days later! The author just needs to adjust the amount of suggested flour! (or reduce the amount of water), depending on the quantity of rolls you want. Instead of the 6 c., add 9 c all-purpose flour, and 1 c. more to your desired consistency. The important thing to remember, is NOT to add additional flour after the first rise (dough should be slightly sticky for the light and fluffy part), as flour added in later doesn't mix in well and the result is dry and 'floury'. Also to knead and even 'throw' the dough down on the counter repeatedy, until dough is elastic. Dough took 2 hours to rise, so there is no way it can rise double in 45 minutes. A final recommendation is to bake the rolls only 20 minutes! and anything further creates a dried out pastry that won't be light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I used butter for the oil, milk for the water, brown sugar for the white in the filling and doubled the cinnamon in the filling. I halved this recipe, made 15 buns in 3 9" round pans. Delicious buns and very easy, no problems with rolling out dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
These are very, very good. Don't let the bad reviews keep you from giving these a try. I used bread flour and 1/2 cup less water. Also used a white cake mix (only kind in my panty), a bit more filling and these were really light, big & fluffy. They were gobbled up fast. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Ok everyone has pretty much said that this recipe needs a LOT more flour than listed. I just wanted to say that with a lot more sugar and cinnamon and raisins* (I soak my raisins in eggs and a t. of vanilla to moisten them) They cut better with the floss or string. AND most importantly they come out MUCH MUCH better if you put them into greased (spray) cupcake pans without liners. This helps them come out in perfect circles and they are still moist on the inside and golden brown on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Nice texture and flavour. But needed a lot of extra flour to work the dough. I halved the recipe, made 18 medium rolls. Freezed half and baked the other half. Would increase cinnamon in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I don't like giving recipes a negative rating, but this one made the "don't make again" list. The dough was extremely sticky. I couldn't even work with it. I put the dough in my Kitchen Aid with the dough hook just to be able to work it. I had to keep adding flour just to be able to pick it up. But I went ahead with the recipe any way. I wanted to call it quits when it came time to roll it out. Some how I rolled the dough up and baked them. They baked fine, but the buns had no taste. I guess because of all the flour I used. They were very dry and bland. I'm sorry, but I will not be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
These turned out big, fluffy and fabulous! I knew the recipe was a winner when I took the first pan out to the neighborhood kids playing in the yard and it was empty in 30 seconds. They're my most honest food critics and they loved it. I sprinkled about 1/4 cup of cinnamon chips along with the sugar and cinnamon. Next time, I'm gonna add a few pecans and some brown sugar and a bit more cinnamon. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States