Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious. I made the dough and cut the rolls last night, covered them, and refrigerated til this morning. I took them out an hour before baking and let them come to room temperature. They rose in the oven beautifully, with a light and fluffy texture. I did make a couple of changes; I substituted melted butter for the oil and I used half water and half milk for the liquid and added 1 tsp vanilla to the dough before adding the flour. Thanks to the other reviewers who noted that more flour was needed--I ended up having to add another 2 cups. My whole family loved these buns, however. These are the permanent recipe for cinnamon buns at my house from now on. So much better than the ones that taste like bread with cinnamon. The cake mix is a wonderful addition. Thanks for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Good rolls, of course it need more flour like others have said. I think a thicker frosting would be more to our liking, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The softest cinammon buns I have ever made! It was a hit with the family. I did some things differently... I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I added raisins to the dough. I also found that you have to use a cake mix that doesn't have pudding in the mix. But I love this recipe! Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very soft and delicious. Brown sugar and cinnamon spread inside are a must at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Warning! You need a lot more flour than the recipe indicates. I don't know how much more I used but I estimate that it's about 2 cups more. The dough is a bit fiddly, but the buns turned out great! The recipe made a lot more than I thought but the buns freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
These were/are absolutely delicious!! I had a hard time understanding,after eating one of these, how the negative reviewers came to there conclusions? The only thing I can honestly come up with is A)The directions were not followed carefully B)Yeast used had expired or C)Way to much flour which toughened it and made it dense. Otherwise this recipe is a "cinnamon bun fans" best friend! I was shocked at how eas this recipe was actually! After many attempts with other recipes this one has shined through for me. Adding that extra cup of flour was necessary and a bit more cinnamon as well-That is the only reason I gave the recipe 4 stars, for the in-accuracy of measurements. To all reading reviews for this recipe, be patient and follow carefully the advice within the reviews and your "Buns" will be a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jowolf2
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did use a brown sugar instead of white and also changed the glaze to a brown sugar and butter glaze and they were very caramely!! A big hit at my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
It goes with name indeed. It's so big, soft & fluffy. In a few minutes I take out from the oven the whole tray was gone! Sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The best cinnamon buns that i have ever made. I did have to use 2 cups more flour to make the dough workable. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I made this for Christmas Breakfast, and it was a real hit with the family - light and fluffy, even 3 days later! The author just needs to adjust the amount of suggested flour! (or reduce the amount of water), depending on the quantity of rolls you want. Instead of the 6 c., add 9 c all-purpose flour, and 1 c. more to your desired consistency. The important thing to remember, is NOT to add additional flour after the first rise (dough should be slightly sticky for the light and fluffy part), as flour added in later doesn't mix in well and the result is dry and 'floury'. Also to knead and even 'throw' the dough down on the counter repeatedy, until dough is elastic. Dough took 2 hours to rise, so there is no way it can rise double in 45 minutes. A final recommendation is to bake the rolls only 20 minutes! and anything further creates a dried out pastry that won't be light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States