Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
despite some negative reviews, I decided to try the recipe. I took many of the other reviewers suggestions, and the recipe indeed needed more flour and less water. I also doubled the cinnamon filling and replaced the white sugar with brown, which was a very nice alteration. But the buns came out very very dense, and not that sweet like a cinnamon bun. But I whipped up some confectioners sugar and brown sugar with some milk and coated the buns with it then let it sit for awhile. They seemed to improve with time. Good buns after a few alterations, however I wouldnt take my time to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
These came out ENORMOUS. Very good and easier than I expected. Wish I had halved recipe. Have a dozen or so taking up a lot of room in freezer! Was traveling over the weekend and stopped at a Cinnabon® to compare. VERY close in flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. I halved the recipe, followed the instructions and added 1/2 cup extra of flour. I also made the buns in the evening, placed them in the fridge overnight and the next morning I let them rest at room temp for 1 hour and them baked them. My husband and I woke up to the yummy smell of cinnamon buns. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These cinnamon rolls are great with a few alterations to the recipe. I decreased the amount of water to about 2 cups so that extra flours did not have to be added. (I found that in me first batch with the extra flour, they were just too floury and dry.) Also, I used brown sugar instead of white and double the amount. After cutting the rolls, I let them rise for several hours, so they were the size of Cinnabon cinnamon rolls. I only cooked them for 20 minutes. They are actually softer once reheated in the microwave for about 30 seconds. This is the only cinnamon roll recipe I've used, and it's the last one I'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dalzell, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious. I made the dough and cut the rolls last night, covered them, and refrigerated til this morning. I took them out an hour before baking and let them come to room temperature. They rose in the oven beautifully, with a light and fluffy texture. I did make a couple of changes; I substituted melted butter for the oil and I used half water and half milk for the liquid and added 1 tsp vanilla to the dough before adding the flour. Thanks to the other reviewers who noted that more flour was needed--I ended up having to add another 2 cups. My whole family loved these buns, however. These are the permanent recipe for cinnamon buns at my house from now on. So much better than the ones that taste like bread with cinnamon. The cake mix is a wonderful addition. Thanks for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Good rolls, of course it need more flour like others have said. I think a thicker frosting would be more to our liking, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The softest cinammon buns I have ever made! It was a hit with the family. I did some things differently... I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I added raisins to the dough. I also found that you have to use a cake mix that doesn't have pudding in the mix. But I love this recipe! Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very soft and delicious. Brown sugar and cinnamon spread inside are a must at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Warning! You need a lot more flour than the recipe indicates. I don't know how much more I used but I estimate that it's about 2 cups more. The dough is a bit fiddly, but the buns turned out great! The recipe made a lot more than I thought but the buns freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
These were/are absolutely delicious!! I had a hard time understanding,after eating one of these, how the negative reviewers came to there conclusions? The only thing I can honestly come up with is A)The directions were not followed carefully B)Yeast used had expired or C)Way to much flour which toughened it and made it dense. Otherwise this recipe is a "cinnamon bun fans" best friend! I was shocked at how eas this recipe was actually! After many attempts with other recipes this one has shined through for me. Adding that extra cup of flour was necessary and a bit more cinnamon as well-That is the only reason I gave the recipe 4 stars, for the in-accuracy of measurements. To all reading reviews for this recipe, be patient and follow carefully the advice within the reviews and your "Buns" will be a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States