Best Ever Cinnamon Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used 2 1/4 cups water and 7 cups flour and it worked out great. I added 1 tsp vanilla to the dough. Also I used 4 tbsp white sugar and 4 tbsp brown sugar with the 3 tbsp cinnamon for the filling. Also used the cream cheese frosting recipe that has been posted. Everyone LOVED them - no need to try another cinnamon roll recipe EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The first thing I thought when I bit into this was, "I can't believe I made this!". SO GOOD! This was my first time making any sort of bun, let alone cinnamon buns and they turned out so well. It did take about 85 minutes for my dough to double the first time, so allow some time there, as others have said. I used FlourGirl's icing recipe and it was perfect. Next time I might try it with an orange cream cheese icing... yum. Thank you so much for making me feel like a validated baker! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is really the Best Ever Cinnamon Roll Recipe I have ever tried. I am very excited to have this recipe! My mom has always been an excellent cook and she taught me at a very young age but I have spent most of my life trying to make "good" cinnamon rolls without any success until now! I took them to work and people I hardly see throughout my day made a special trip to my desk to tell me how wonderful they are! Thank you so much for this recipe I can't wait to make them again! Teresa Plowman Marshfield,MO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAGIRL29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elise
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
its a good recipe... however my dough experiences arent all that great, but even thou my issues w/ the "rising part", it still lacked flavor. thank goodness i didnt bake it all at once, i was able to adjust the second roll w/ some extras that IMO added the extra umph it needed... but hey you helped me w/ the base of it... thank you very mucho! i added a photo of my 2nd roll w/ toffee bit on top! YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
despite some negative reviews, I decided to try the recipe. I took many of the other reviewers suggestions, and the recipe indeed needed more flour and less water. I also doubled the cinnamon filling and replaced the white sugar with brown, which was a very nice alteration. But the buns came out very very dense, and not that sweet like a cinnamon bun. But I whipped up some confectioners sugar and brown sugar with some milk and coated the buns with it then let it sit for awhile. They seemed to improve with time. Good buns after a few alterations, however I wouldnt take my time to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
These came out ENORMOUS. Very good and easier than I expected. Wish I had halved recipe. Have a dozen or so taking up a lot of room in freezer! Was traveling over the weekend and stopped at a Cinnabon® to compare. VERY close in flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. I halved the recipe, followed the instructions and added 1/2 cup extra of flour. I also made the buns in the evening, placed them in the fridge overnight and the next morning I let them rest at room temp for 1 hour and them baked them. My husband and I woke up to the yummy smell of cinnamon buns. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These cinnamon rolls are great with a few alterations to the recipe. I decreased the amount of water to about 2 cups so that extra flours did not have to be added. (I found that in me first batch with the extra flour, they were just too floury and dry.) Also, I used brown sugar instead of white and double the amount. After cutting the rolls, I let them rise for several hours, so they were the size of Cinnabon cinnamon rolls. I only cooked them for 20 minutes. They are actually softer once reheated in the microwave for about 30 seconds. This is the only cinnamon roll recipe I've used, and it's the last one I'll need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dalzell, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Delicious. I made the dough and cut the rolls last night, covered them, and refrigerated til this morning. I took them out an hour before baking and let them come to room temperature. They rose in the oven beautifully, with a light and fluffy texture. I did make a couple of changes; I substituted melted butter for the oil and I used half water and half milk for the liquid and added 1 tsp vanilla to the dough before adding the flour. Thanks to the other reviewers who noted that more flour was needed--I ended up having to add another 2 cups. My whole family loved these buns, however. These are the permanent recipe for cinnamon buns at my house from now on. So much better than the ones that taste like bread with cinnamon. The cake mix is a wonderful addition. Thanks for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Good rolls, of course it need more flour like others have said. I think a thicker frosting would be more to our liking, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States