Best Ever Chuck Wagon Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I was making chili for 25 people. So I modified the recipe a little. 2 pounds of turkey and 2 pounds of beef. I added pinto beans, kidney beans and black beans...to make it different. Big can of Tomato sauce and a big can of diced tomatoes. I added chili powder ( I got this seasonig for chili ready to use). Some sugar. Oh yeah....white and green onions. Garlic. Also, I added turkey broth. YUM! Everyone ate and they had more. Cheddar cheese on top and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is a great base chili, simple and easy. I do adjust the flavor to my liking, but its chili, and thats what your supposed to do, right? yea absolutely. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Delicious! I made for four and used can of sweet onion diced tomatoes and one small can tomato sauce. Also plenty of peppers and about 1-1/2 cups of leftover pork & beans. Wonderful flavor. And since my husband is on low salt diet no extra salt yet it was salty enough and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe was indeed wonderful! I carefully added every ingredient and followed the recipe using the exact measurements and quantities. I made the chili the night before a heavy snow, somthe next day I announced to my family and neighbours when they had enough of the white stuff they could come in and enjoy some of the red hot stuff. No my hair is blonde I was referring to the chili! Now, I've been using Allrecipes for about a year now and so what I'm about to write is certainly something you've heard before........ But how..... please tell me how can anyone rate a recipe, this recipe, their mothers recipe or even the dogs recipe if they make changes to the recipe.? If you make changes to someone's recipe have the decency to pay the fee to become a pro and post your newly revised recipe. With any luck someone will make your newly revised recipe as its posted and rate it accordingly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Did this recipe on a Boy Scout camping trip. Did not use the hot sauce nor the hot pepper. Used instead the Jalapeno (sp). Scouts loved it and it came in 2nd place in the chili cook off out of 16 other chili entries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corner, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Pretty good overall, but the flavor wasn't as strong as I was hoping. It is a good one with cheese, crackers and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this dish several times, and it's become one of my favorites. As with most great chilies, it just gets better after an overnight stay in the fridge. I enjoy this over rice, or simply by itself. Great, simple, and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wow! But I added corn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made this chili a few times and it's awesome! I'm a vegetarian so I use vegetarian meat filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Delicious! Used 1-1/3 lbs ground beef, 2/3 lb chorizo because that was what we had thawed in the refrigerator. Used two cans tomato sauce, two cans Hunt's Fire Roasted diced tomatoes, two cans kidney beans (one light, one dark). Fresh ingredients consisted of two bell peppers, one poblano pepper, one jalapeno pepper, and three cloves of garlic. Used spices as found in the recipe, but added two teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa for a distinct flavor. Served with the "Golden Sweet Cornbread" recipe found on this website, this stuff was gone before I got a chance to grab some at our company potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States