Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We used this recipe as a part of a school project: DS had to make a 3-D model of something from the book Fahrenheit 451- he chose a phoenix. This cookie dough was perfect- we made the base of the display, the back of the phoenix and the decorative front from this dough. (used chocolate royal icing to glue it all together on the sugar cookie background for contrast) Not only has it held up so far, I tasted one of the scraps and it's really yummy too! I'll be making some REAL cookies from this soon- easy recipe (DS made it all himself) and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I substituted 2 egg whites for the 1 egg and used 1/4 cup of light butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the 3/4 butter. They taste like cakesters. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste is definitely awesome and extra chocolatey. It was initially very gooey and sticky, so I had a hard time getting it out of the mixing bowl, so I added some more flour and after chilling I could roll it out just fine between two sheets of parchment paper so I got no more extra flour added in. The baked cookies do break easily unless you roll them thicker and let them cool a bit first before lifting them off the cookie sheet. They held their shape beautifully so the dough works fine with complex cutters. However, they are not strong enough to withstand covering the entire surface with royal icing, in fact you don't need it. I did add vanilla and people kept saying they tasted like brownies. This one is definitely making it into my cookie recipe box. It gets five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
It was chocolatey, and it was a good cut-out consistency, I just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made these at Xmas time.Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed others' recommendations and added the vanilla and extra egg yolk. I rolled them out between two sheets of waxed paper, so I didn't need to use extra flour or cocoa powder. They taste really good, and my only complaint is that they break apart super-easy. I was planning to decorate them for friends and I've already lost three to breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I followed the suggestions & added an extra egg yolk and some cinnamon. Rolled the dough 1/4" and baked on parchment for 7 minutes. Great flavor, chewy texture but they broke easily, even after glazing them with a thin icing. Next time I'll use a sturdier cutout design, or just cut into rounds. Will add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Disaster! The cookies started perfectly doughy, i cut them into 1/8inch thick stars with my cookie cutter, and placed them in the oven for 6 minutes. I check them later and they are one giant wafer-thin bubbly cookie. They tasted good, but they were crazy! The butter in the cookies melted and 'boiled' the cookies! These were NOTHING like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reindeary

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TarynG
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
They were a hit at the New Year's party I brought them to. I found the dough difficult to roll out after taking it out of the fridge, and the cut-outs fell apart if I wasn't very careful when moving them, even though I rolled them thicker than instructed. Overall they turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Girlyone123
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Not very chocolately. They were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States