Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
For flavor, I give this recipe 5 stars. Unfortunately, like other reviewers, I had an issue with most of them breaking apart while getting them off the pan. Even still, the flavor was so good that I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Silverwing05
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The flavor of this cookie is wonderful. They remind of a crisp brownie. The dough was a bit crumbly and kept pulling up with the rolling pin, had to use a good dusting of cocoa powder. I would recomend rolling dough out on parchment paper, cut out shapes, then remove excess dough to prevent cookies from falling apart during tranfer to a baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silverwing05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsrussellinoz
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The dough was far too dry! I tried to add a bit more butter after it was all mixed together - that was hard. I only used 1 cup of sugar and it was sweet enough. I just wanted a chocolate sugar cookie recipe to make "Tiny Teddies" and essentially that's what I got. Tastes good and that is what matters most. Next time I will add vanilla & a 2nd egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We used this recipe as a part of a school project: DS had to make a 3-D model of something from the book Fahrenheit 451- he chose a phoenix. This cookie dough was perfect- we made the base of the display, the back of the phoenix and the decorative front from this dough. (used chocolate royal icing to glue it all together on the sugar cookie background for contrast) Not only has it held up so far, I tasted one of the scraps and it's really yummy too! I'll be making some REAL cookies from this soon- easy recipe (DS made it all himself) and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I substituted 2 egg whites for the 1 egg and used 1/4 cup of light butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the 3/4 butter. They taste like cakesters. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
The taste is definitely awesome and extra chocolatey. It was initially very gooey and sticky, so I had a hard time getting it out of the mixing bowl, so I added some more flour and after chilling I could roll it out just fine between two sheets of parchment paper so I got no more extra flour added in. The baked cookies do break easily unless you roll them thicker and let them cool a bit first before lifting them off the cookie sheet. They held their shape beautifully so the dough works fine with complex cutters. However, they are not strong enough to withstand covering the entire surface with royal icing, in fact you don't need it. I did add vanilla and people kept saying they tasted like brownies. This one is definitely making it into my cookie recipe box. It gets five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
It was chocolatey, and it was a good cut-out consistency, I just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made these at Xmas time.Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed others' recommendations and added the vanilla and extra egg yolk. I rolled them out between two sheets of waxed paper, so I didn't need to use extra flour or cocoa powder. They taste really good, and my only complaint is that they break apart super-easy. I was planning to decorate them for friends and I've already lost three to breakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I followed the suggestions & added an extra egg yolk and some cinnamon. Rolled the dough 1/4" and baked on parchment for 7 minutes. Great flavor, chewy texture but they broke easily, even after glazing them with a thin icing. Next time I'll use a sturdier cutout design, or just cut into rounds. Will add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States