Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is my go-to recipe for rolled chocolate cookies. As per other reviewers, I add a tsp of vanilla, occasionally add an extra egg yolk if I'm baking other stuff that'll use the white, and I always roll the dough out on cocoa powder. For cocoa, I use about half Hershey's Special Dark (which is a blend of regular and Dutch) and half regular. This makes the cookies very dark, which offsets the sweetness of royal icing decorations very nicely. I also roll them with my 1/4" guides and bake for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlychapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Have tried recipe twice and both times my cookies are crumbly and dry. Very few were eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were terrific: easy to make and very tasty. I used this recipe rather than gingerbread (which hardly anyone wants to eat) to make the moose cookies I bake every year. Now they're chocolate moose cookies which makes them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I added a capful of vanilla and chilled the dough overnight. The dough is BEAUTIFUL, and rolled out like fondant. Thicker cookies came out soft and chewy; thinner came out crisp--BOTH thick and thin have a wonderful chocolate-y flavor and are delicious! Thanks for sharing this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy to roll out. Loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I was testing a few different chocolate rollout sugar cookies and these were by far the best. So chocolatey, didn't lose their shape, and chewy in the middle. I followed recommendations and added an egg yolk. I rolled them out to 1/4" thick and baked for 9 min for smaller shapes and 11 min for larger shapes. Took them to a cookie swap with peanut butter icing and won!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Such a great, easy recipe for something a little different! I add 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and an extra egg yolk but other than that stick with the recipe. I ended of chilling my dough longer than planned (3hrs) because my 1 year old wasn't in the mood to share my focus but I think it helped in the long run. When rolling out dough use more cocoa powder instead of flour so you don't ruin the look with white baked on flour and roll out between sheets of parchment paper for the easiest experience. DON'T overbake! these turn out great, like a brownie flavored sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Tasted ok, but far too dry to roll. I could have worked with it however I never would have gotten out of it the # of cookies I required, so I rolled them into balls. I'll stick with my regular cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent. They taste like brownies! The only change I made was to sub. 1/4 c of shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe, kids loved it and cut them themselves! Nice taste and texture, easy dough to work with, needs chilling just as any cut-out cookie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States